OMG Becca That’s Crazy Talk!

Posted: July 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

It all began with my obligatory mom blog.

The day before Mother’s Day I called my mom after after a few minutes of our usual chit chat… it all came pouring out.

It all started with one simple line which eventually I was able to say on my blog:

I’m not happy

So simple, yet that was all it took for the tears to start falling. This conversation “officially” set my plan in motion. Since that Saturday morning in May I have been packing, saving, plotting and preparing myself for today.

My mom’s comment on my Mother’s Day Post really says it all in a cryptic sort of way.

To my favorite daughter. Can’t wait to have you home. Love you.

 

(FYI: I cant believe I finally told my mom about my blog… and that she figured out how to leave a comment… oh, and I’m her only daughter, so by “law” I’m the favorite)

So getting back to my point.

There was some delays in getting my SUPER MEGA HUGE NEWS. It was supposed to happen last Wednesday… but there was a snag in the plans.

hairLike major snag. Which as upset and stressed out as it left me, I let what would be be… because the whole point in waiting until July for this was my competition. I wanted to focus on that.

capclassic 036So I pushed it out of my mind and did what I had to do. Luckily the papers I needed finally went through on Friday and I was able to breathe a little sigh of relief.

Phone calls were frantic this week and a lot of stress was had that well, resulted in me needed a very chill night last night.

wiaw 004When I got the call today that the papers were refused and I was stuck I did what any independent 27 year old would do, grabbed a fistful of kleenex, went outside and called my mom sobbing. 

It’s clearly the grown up thing to do.

After I explained the situation, we discussed, she told me to dry my tears, and go to talk to my boss as planned and we would figure out the rest when she gets back to Canada.

(I seriously think it’s probably cheaper to call a sex hotline than your parents cell phone when they’re out of the country… but I digress)

So I wiped my tears, had my lunch, and walked into my bosses office.

As of next Friday I am officially….

UNEMPLOYED.

As of next weekend I am officially….

MOVING TO NEW BRUNSWICK

giant

I know what you’re thinking.

OMG that’s CRAZY TALK Becca

Maybe a little.

Okay, maybe a lot.

But I have never been more sure of a decision in my life. Moving to Montreal was the right thing to do at 19. Sure, it was impulsive, a little nuts and not at all like me… but it was right.

I needed to get out, I needed to find out who I was, what I wanted to do with my life, embrace life.

vacay 032

There have been some crazy adventures, some crazy drinking stories and some crazy life changes that have happened, but all of them have made me who I am today.

(excuse me while I hold back my tears here)

But the older I get, the more I crave settling down and honestly… I can’t ever see that happening in Montreal. I need my family, I need my friends and I need to have a lifestyle that is okay with “settling down” instead of looking for the next bigger and better thing like is so common here in the city.

I love the city, and I know I’ll be back to visit. But it’s not home.

vacay 026I know home is where ever you make it… but I’ve learned more and more how it’s not WHERE you are that’s home, it’s who you’re with that’s home.

So next weekend the Fritz and I pack up and head back east… almost 1000km in a car.. with my cat. Dear Santa, please help me now.

And that my friends is my super huge mega news.

Have I lost my mind? Possibly.

… but maybe not.

I’m pretty sure sticking around is the only way you’ll know the truth. If there is anything I can guarantee you, things are going to get pretttttttty interesting around here.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to get my butt to the gym to relieve some stress… and then possibly meet up with some friends for a little of this.

jar… I think I’ll need it.

Any tips on moving long distance with a CAT?!

… I could really use them!

Comments
  1. I think that’s AWESOME NEWS! And I’m very happy for this big change =) I totally can understand too. I left home to spend 4 yrs in Chicago, and now almost 10 in California and I’m ready to be closer to family again. It’s too lonely out here and I hate that.

    I’ve taken my cat 2200 miles…go to the vet and get some mild anxiety pills for him. I usually only would use half per day. It just mellows them out and gives them a sleepy look, but makes them very calm.

  2. Kari says:

    First – CONGRATULATIONS on your big news and huge life change! So excited for you!
    Second – We drove from Montana to DC in a U-Haul with my TWO cats. It actually went very smoothly and they slept most of the time. The only time we ran into an issue (read: Ed having a bathroom incident inside his carrier) was at 3 am after a long day of no food or water or litter box for the kitties. Not the wisest decision I’ve ever made. Other than that, we barely knew they were in the truck.

  3. http://makingthecutlosingit.blogspot.com/ says:

    I totally did the exact same thing. I moved to be with my (as of yesterday) ex-boyfriend 4 hours away. I lasted there a total of 9 months. Was soooooo home sick I couldn’t stand it. So I moved home! It was the hardest decision to leave my boyfriend at the time but best one I have ever made. I always say home is where your MOM is! Congrats on getting to go home to where the people would love you the most are!

  4. what papers were refused? the sub-letting of your apartment?

  5. http://makingthecutlosingit.blogspot.com/ says:

    I totally did the exact same thing. I moved to be with my (as of yesterday) ex-boyfriend 4 hours away. I lasted there a total of 9 months. Was soooooo home sick I couldn’t stand it. So I moved home! It was the hardest decision to leave my boyfriend at the time but best one I have ever made. I always say home is where your MOM is! Congrats on getting to go home to where the people would love you the most are!

  6. Erika says:

    Once a Maritimer, always a Maritimer! So cliché but the older I get, I realize how true that saying really is. Welcome home! (and about you saying you thought CrossFit looked intriguing…new workout partners are always welcome :p)

  7. Dotsie says:

    Lol, sorry I don’t have advice, but I am looking forward to hearing about your new adventures 🙂

  8. Sandra says:

    Wow, big changes. I can totally understand your decision though. I moved from Germany to the US when I was 24. Now I’m 32 and actually considering moving back sooner or later in order to be with my family and old friends. No regrets though – like you said, it made you who you are today 🙂

    As to traveling with the Fritz…I recommend one of those mason jars of wine for him!
    Hehe, no but seriously – Bach’s Rescue Remedy for pets might help!? All the best to you!!

  9. Pam says:

    Good luck! With any big change comes stress, but also tons of possibilities and opportunities!! Sometimes you have to take a big risk to get the big reward :). I’m learning that myself right now. It’s scary, but so exciting! Enjoy your workout and fun evening!!

  10. kathleen says:

    Ha. I have a baby and I still call my mom crying. How’s that for grown-up. But yes, moving back with family is awesome. We left last year and started our own family and still wonder kit was the right thing to do…

    Congrats.

  11. Sounds like you made the right choice for you – and that’s all that really matters. No advice on the cat though, sorry. My kitty tweaks out during all car rides. 🙂

  12. First of all: I THINK THIS IS GREAT. 🙂 We are also moving to be closer to family now 🙂 It makes life SO much easier.

    I moved a grand total of 4,000 miles with our cat, Muffins, by car. We:

    1) Bought her a leash with a halter (cats are great at slipping out of leashes that just use collars)
    2) Walked her at every rest stop so she wouldn’t go nuts
    3) Had a disposable litter box for her for every day of driving
    4) Got really deep water and food dishes, put some water and food in them, and secured them to the bottom of the back seat of the car — but she never ate or drank until we stopped at a hotel anyway

    We also kept the A/C on the lowest setting possible because air conditioning really dries out the air and the poor kitty’s nose and mouth.

    But she was fine!! She really liked highway driving, did not care for roads with potholes. 🙂 She liked being able to roam around the car and usually curled up in the rear window and slept in the sun.Typical.

  13. allieksmith says:

    Yaaaaaaaaay! THis is awesome news! I think you will be soo happy Becca 🙂

    I know home is where ever you make it… but I’ve learned more and more how it’s not WHERE you are that’s home, it’s who you’re with that’s home.—-> those is the best words I have read/heard all week!

  14. Kimmy says:

    Becca – best of luck with your move! Do what makes you happy 🙂 I want to second the recommendation for the Bach Flowers Rescue Remedy. A couple of sprays of that and Fritz should relax for the drive home. It’s safe – even humans can use it. I’ve used it to help myself relax before lol.

    http://www.bachflower.com/Rescue_Remedy.htm

  15. Ann says:

    Wow! That is BIG news! Please forgive my ignorance…but Brunswick…Maine? I hope the move goes smoothly and I agree with a previous poster – go see your vet for mild anxiety meds for the cat!

    Enjoy your workout and meeting with friends!

  16. NOOOO. SAD DAY.

    Actually just kidding you have to do whats best for you girl and if moving is it than its it. I am so sad because I would have legit visited you next semester though. 🙂

  17. Dawn says:

    I’m excited for you girl! You have to do what feels right. You are very lucky to have such a great mom.

  18. tara says:

    Congratulations on your big news! I loved, your line: “I know home is where ever you make it… but I’ve learned more and more how it’s not WHERE you are that’s home, it’s who you’re with that’s home.”

    I moved to Miami, FL from Ohio, and it’s terrible! I miss my family, friends and my husband, who travels a lot (…okay, all the time, so much so, it’s “visiting” when he comes home). If I could, I’d move home in a heartbeat. But we all need to expand our little 20-something wings and see what’s out there.

    Congratulations again!

  19. Stephanie says:

    Congratulations! The heart wants what the heart wants and good for you for following it. I think this will be an exciting new chapter for you!

    And PS I’m unemployed to so we can tweet all day and keep each other company lol 😉

  20. Stephanie says:

    Congratulations! The heart wants what the heart wants and good for you for following it. I think this will be an exciting new chapter for you!

    And PS I’m unemployed to so we can tweet all day and keep each other company lol

  21. Genie says:

    I want to move!!!!!!

    Best of luck!! 🙂

  22. klh says:

    Yay! You have to do what makes you happy! I can absolutely relate w/ home being who you are w/ as opposed to where you are! Look forward to following this journey!

    Katie : )

  23. Tenecia says:

    Congrats on the move!!!

    T.

  24. Becca, I am so so glad you made a decision that is right for you. I am seriously so excited for you! Not crazy talk at all.

  25. Jessica says:

    I am so excited for you. I secretly wish I were moving home too. I understand where you are coming from. There just isn’t a place like home with the people that you love. Good luck with your move!

  26. Amy @ countrystrong21 says:

    Congratulations on the upcoming move! It sounds like it was a kind of scary/stressful time up until this point but the important thing is that this is the right decision for you. Best of luck to you with your move, and with Fritz traveling in the car with you!

  27. I am near my family and my husband’s family is here, too. I can’t imagine life any other way.

  28. marlopnwgirl says:

    WOHOO!!! So glad the news is out love! Cant wait for you to be with your family again..

  29. Lisa says:

    Great news! Good for you. I realized too as I got older that you need your parents more than you think you do. You also WANT them more than you think you do! My hubby and I live far from our parents and it’s so hard on us. Just not being able to have our kids live close to them is sad. We might be doing the same thing next year….

    I’m excited for you. Changes are fun!

  30. I am so happy for you for making a huge decision based on how you feel. I am sure it will work out perfectly. I am pretty much not looking forward about Frank on the plane… he is almost guaranteed to make me miserable and possibly kill me in my sleep on my first night in Chicago. Good luck with the drive!

Leave a Reply

