Getting Back Into My Happy Place

Posted: July 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

Post show is always an interesting time.

For me I just don’t feel like ME.

I’m a creature of habit, I love my routine and that’s admittedly why I probably enjoy prep so much.

But what happens after the show? You add back in the salt, you slow down the cardio, you take a few days off from the gym and enjoy some mexican food.

capclassic 082All of that, coupled with the stomach issues that still are not completely better after my food poisoning, the stress of um… that slightly BIG ANNCOUNEMENT I made yesterday left me feeling… less than Becca-like.

While I had been packing my regular meals for work, my evenings were all over the place, food, a glass of wine, cookies, no workouts. I just felt… Blah.

So yesterday I packed my meals… AND my gym bag.

Someone STOLE my preworkout oatmeal from the fridge (like really, who does that?!) so I had my post workout rice cakes before hand, hit the gym for a decent back and bicep workout… and decided to enjoy my post workout meal and beat the heat all in one swift move.

I walked over to Crescent street (ughhhhh, the pretentiousness almost killed me), located Swurl Yogurt and headed on in.

july 21 002I have read for MONTHS on blogs about self serve fro yo and have never been. Ever. This makes me sad, and since I know there is nothing of the sort in my hometown, I figured it was now or never.

Enter cookies and cream fro yo, graham cracker bits, mini marshmallows, a few of my favorite childhood chocolate candies and a boat load of sprinkles.

 july 21 001Sprinkles make everything better.

I sat on their little slightly ac’d patio and enjoyed every last bite of it. While no, it wasn’t “healthy” or on my plan, it was a hell of a lot better than the bottle of wine I would have downed if I’d gone straight home, or the Ben and Jerry’s thoughts I pushed aside when I passed them on my walk.

Guilt free. I enjoyed it, I didn’t feel sick and that was that.

…. I can also guarantee you I’ll be back before I leave Montreal.

When I got home I had some fun mail waiting for me!

july 21 003I may have sort of bitched on twitter about how the David’s Tea location downtown kept giving me the wrong flavor of iced tea… and the last straw was when I had to dump it out because it literally tasted like drinking dead flowers. Blech. They saw this and sent me coupons for free iced tea! How cool is that?!

So there I was, back on a meal plan (.. okay, easing myself back into a meal plan..), back in the gym but walking into my apartment I still didn’t feel right. While I had been so clean/streamlined before my competition, since getting back there is a bag on the floor exploding tan stained clothing, a cooler in the hallway and just general disorder.

I grabbed a garbage bag and torn through my house, tossing ANYTHING I don’t need/want/use, tidying and putting stuff back where it should be. It took a grand total of maybe 20 minutes but after that, I felt like order was restored to my life. Ahhh!

I prepped meals for the last two work days this week, had an egg and some amazing melon and got to bed… with my alarm set for 5:30.

Yeah. The final phase of “normalcy” was announced last night on twitter… and obviously if you tweet something it must come true right?!

My alarm blared at me at 5:30. I really wanted to shut it off and roll back over. It was HOT… but I got up and turned on the radio.

Oh look, it’s the hottest day of the year. Heat/humidity/smog warning in effect. Apparently it’s caused by a “heat bubble” from the southern US?

Whatever. I said I was going to run, so I got dressed and I ran. My sensor is packed and I’m not about to go unpacking boxes so I did my old 5mile loop and timed it with my stopwatch.

I got home and was a disgusting sweaty beast.

july 21 004… which clearly you need to see a photo of.

My time seemed a little… speedy, so i broke out my itouch with my old times saved in it and compared.

Previous 5 mile PR: 39:46

Today’s 5 mile time: 37:17

Yeah. Prep really wore me down, burned me out and just killed my body.

Excuse my laughter. Even WITH my stomach grumbling and still not quite happy I PR’d. How’s that for kick ass!?

After all of that I am FINALLY feeling back to myself.

okay, a bit stressed out about the move, but I know in the next few days things will 100% come together, the date will be finalized and the plan set in motion.

Um yeah. Big changes. Big plans.

I am frickin PUMPED.

… and I didn’t even have coffee today! WHAT?!?

dec6 017(full disclosure, I think that’s actually a cup of tea… I’m a horrible Canadian and absolutely LOATH Tim Horton’s coffee. Blech) 

Do you feel out of sorts when your routine isn’t the same?

… or am I crazy?!

And for the Canadians! Tim Horton’s coffee… yay or nay?!

Comments
  1. Genie says:

    We have Tim Horton’s. I also dislike their coffee… love their chocolate drinks and Timbits, though! nomnomnom

  2. ittybitsofbalance says:

    So glad to have found your blog 🙂 I used to loveeee eggs, but found out a month ago that I’m allergic to egg whites! boooo
    And YES I feel totally out of norm when my routine thrown for a loop– especially when it doesn’t include my morning coffee… 😉

  3. Nikki says:

    I always feel ten times better when I’m back into my normal routine and eating healthy foods again. It makes me feel calm and not stressed or disgusted in myself.

    Yay for the big announcement! I saw it yesterday and didn’t comment! That’s so exciting to be starting a new chapter near friends and family. Is that still in Canada though? I’m confused but at least I can say I am friends with a Canadian! 🙂

  4. Ann says:

    I am a creature of habit and when my routine is broken up – I’m completely discombobulated! I completely understand and I”m glad you went back to the gym! Congrats on your free tea coupons!

  5. allieksmith says:

    You are kick @$$… that is an AWESOME pace Becca! Seriously… I think you would make an awesome runner buut I know you hate it haha.

    I do feel out of sorts when my routine is out of whack!

  6. Amy @ countrystrong21 says:

    Definitely feel weird when I’m not in my normal routine. But do I really have a “normal routine”?? Good questions haha!

    I’m not a coffee drinker period and I’m not Canadian so I have no opinion on this Tim Horton coffee you speak of lol.

  7. Dotsie says:

    You ARE kick ass! Congrats on the pr even while feeling crappy! You rock.. But you know that already.

    I absolutely feel out of sorts when my routine is off. I’m sitting down with a notebook and pen tonight to write my thoughts, because I’m out of routine now. House fire and unexpected death of my baby dog will do a girl in. Your blog and others have helped pick me up a bit, though. Thanks for that! I guess my tip to stay focused during a move is to write or type into your phone your goals and commit to revisiting them at least every morning! And go back at night to read and prepare for the next day..and give yourself some wiggle room if you slip a bit.

    • ihearteggs says:

      oh dotsie!!! I’m so sorry to hear about the fire and your pup! Are you okay?!

      • Dotsie says:

        Everyday gets a little easier 🙂 thanks. There’s lots of work to do and my Roxie is irreplaceable, but life goes on…I’m pulling up my big girls panties-slowly, but surely. I’ll be ok! 🙂

  8. The heat is ridiculous and you were still super fast! Awesome. We have Tim Hortons here (in Bflo), and I don’t like their coffee, but I do like their bagels and muffins and such. haha:)

Leave a Reply

