Anticlimactic

Posted: July 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

After the gym last night I headed home knowing it was time… time to attempt to put the harness on the Fritz to be sure it fits.

I was fully expecting a fight. Despite the fact he has no front claws, his back ones are trimmed very short he was always a biter as a kitten so I was expecting the worst.

When I got home I settled onto my bed… and by bed I mean mattress on the floor and Fritz was in his usual “I’m just checking things out” position.

july 29 001Just hanging back, making sure nothing shady is going on.

Before I called him over I got it out of the package and adjusted it how I thought it would need to be and figured out how it went on so I wasn’t fumbling when it was time.

I called him over… and like the dog he is.. he hopped up and came over… and sat right beside the harness, not even batting an eye. Hmmm.

I lifted him up, put his paws in and ugh… too small.

He didn’t run away like I was expecting while I adjusted it, put it back on, and then adjusted it AGAIN.

(FYI Fritz, you’re not fluffy, you’re fat. You get diet food next bag)

Third time was a charm, paws in, closure snapped and um… nothing.

No running around like a maniac

No clawing

No biting

No stressed out Fritz

He simply laid down… and unlike his owner he has shame. So much shame he wouldn’t even look at the camera.

july 29 002Does that not say “I hate you but I will tolerate this as long as it means I’m coming with you”

I decided to leave him alone for a minute to chill and see if a reaction would occur.. I came back and um…

july 29 003  Sup yo? I’m chillin’!

… Now if the rest of this moving process goes as smoothly I’ll be laughing!

It’s been a busy day, busted out of bed at 4:50am, shoulder workout, 15 minutes of treadmill sprints, paid more than my first born child is worth to get out of my gym membership, bank and now off to the office.

It’s going to be a rough day as everything is behind/late/a mess/a huge f-ing disaster… but hey, it’s my LAST DAY so you know what? It’s not so bad!

I’ve got a lot of blah blah blah going on in my head so stay tuned for some crazy this afternoon (hopefully I make it back here!)… it’ll be worth the read.

Happy Thursday!

Have you ever had to put a harness on a cat? Put one on a lease? Rest stops during long trips? Litter box or will he be content with the grass?! HELP!!!

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    Well…I can understand it being anticlimactic, but I’m glad it went smoothly! I have a wee Yorkie who LOVES going on a walk, ,but runs every time I grab her harness….it makes no sense! I hope your move goes as smoothly, too!

  2. Heather B says:

    Both my cats go on the leash/harness when we have road trips. The fat one, once you catch him, doesn’t have a problem having it on, but it acts like instant extra gravity. Wherever you put him, that’s where he stays because clearly the harness weighs a ton and it’s impossible to move with it on. He then gives me the look of “omg, it’s so HEAVY” until I take it off. My other cat doesn’t really care, she’s very chill.

  3. Our cat never used the litter box while we were moving. She moved for a grand total of…oh gosh 10 or 11 days of 12-14 hours driving…and she’d always just use the box when we got to the motel room. One time she did take a crap just on the back seat you know NEXT TO the $4 damn litterbox but that was because we kept her out for too long — it was our last day of driving so we went about 16 hours and I think she just panicked.

    She never went in the grass either BTW, or ate or drank even though we left her food out all day in the backseat. She did love rest stops though, I think all the walking helped tucker her out so she could sleep!! AND of course she loved alllllll the attention from all the people AT the rest stops.

  4. allieksmith says:

    Aww Fritz haha!! I just showed my little sister the picture and she was giggling up a storm! He is so cute haha!

    I once put my older cat on a leash… she tried to run and then got like choked back. Then she just layed on the ground and I dragged her. (I was like 5 I promise haha). I suppose that doesn’t sound encouraging but you could always pick Fritz up… it would be a bicep workout 😉

  5. Lauren says:

    When my sister moved from Seattle to Pennsylvania she was most concerned about her cat. They took lots of breaks but the cat wouldn’t go to the bathroom until try were stopped for the night. She had a harness and leash to walk around the rest areas and her cat love that. Good luck!

  6. Kari says:

    I have harnesses for my kitties, and they tolerate them just fine. Ed is too large to fit into the cat sizes, so he has a Medium size dog harness. Ha! When I moved, I just left them in their carriers every time we stopped. They didn’t want to get out because they felt safe in their carriers. I didn’t give them any food or water all day – they didn’t need it cuz they weren’t moving around. When we stopped at night, I set up food & water and their litter box. They ate, drank & used their box then. Usually animals are so stressed out from travelling, they aren’t really hungry anyway. I’m sure your lil guy is gonna be just fine! He seems like a trooper. 🙂

  7. We kept a lid to a packing box in the car that had litter in it, just in case, and at rest stops we’d place it outside. My cats wouldn’t go in the grass.

    Good luck and congrats on the last day –woohoo!

  8. marlopnwgirl says:

    Love that the Fritz just sat back and didnt mind the harness.. I know that probably stressed you out a bit and worried you.

  9. nikkionlunch says:

    Ah, well good luck. My experience with cats is similar to the above: They don’t do much while in the car, unless they freak out and have an accident.

    Good luck on the move!

  10. Laura says:

    I am not trying to be a Debbie downer- but I have had less successful trips with my kitties, so I thought I would share. When I was moving I had 1 cat in a carrier and one out. The one out was terrified s

    • ihearteggs says:

      oh Fritz will be in a carrier at all times when the car is moving… but it’s going to be a 10-11 hour drive. I want to have the option to take him out while at rest stops

  11. Laura says:

    Sorry- stupid iPhone-
    The one out of the carrier was terrified. I had to pet him the entire time in the car and the one minute I stopped, he peed on me. This cat is totally happy all the time and never in distress at home, so it was a total shocker when I felt him do his thing on me. My suggestion is that if Fritz gets nervous in the car, a carrier would be a good idea. Cat urine is the most difficult thing to clean in a car, even after steam cleaning and everything else, I can’t get the smell out. Sorry for being negative, but I would put Jerry in a carrier from here on out

  12. Dotsie says:

    Awww, he’s such a handsome cat! I’m glad he behaved well and preserved your skin 😉 now… Let’s see him walk with hooked to a leash! 😀

Leave a Reply

