Strawberry Oatmeal Pancakes

Posted: August 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

Watch out Hollie! I’m making pancakes!

…. and once I find my waffle maker in the pile of boxes. Oh yes… waffles galore.

…. and it’s pretty much a done deal, I’m running a 5miler in September.

OMG Who am I and what have I done to Becca?!

While catching up on my overflowing google reader today I saw a blog about roasted strawberries.

How I got from roasting strawberries to pancakes, I don’t know. All I do know is that there is a half a container of slightly mushy strawberries left in the fridge and they needed to get in my belly. Since I was thinking of them for my preworkout meal, pancakes seemed like the best idea.

I started with large flake oats and unsweetened chocolate almond milk.

august 2 015

I added the milk to the oats in a big shaker cup… and added in about 2tbsp of sugar free maple syrup (because I’m Canadian and add maple syrup to everything in the offseason) and tossed the container in the fridge to soften the oats and make them have more… oomph?

august 2 016

… okay, and I needed to dry my hair and it wasn’t quite meal time yet. Whatever.

Now that I’m presentable… Hi there!

august 2 017

It was time to get a little…. creative.

(FYI: totally winging this recipe based off old protein pancake recipes I used to love)

A bit of baking powder and a splash of vanilla.

august 2 018

Add in egg whites, and a bit of protein powder.

august 2 019

Put the cover on and shake shake shake.

Normally I’d magic bullet this, but my bullet is in a box in the garage and while I know exactly where it is, it’s raining and I’m not running to the garage to get it. No thanks.

(yes, made of sugar and will melt)

I heated up a pan, poured the batter in, added the thinly sliced strawberries and….

august 2 020

VOILA!

Topped this is a bit of homemade syrup and it was good to go!

august 2 021

 

Strawberry Oatmeal Pancakes

(loosely based on every other protein pancake recipe on the face of the planet)

  • 40g large flake oats
  • 1/2 c almond milk
  • pinch baking powder
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • splash vanilla extract
  • 3 or 4 thinly sliced strawberries

Strawberry Maple Syrup

(totally pulled this out of you know where)

  • about 1/8c sugar free maple syrup
  • 2 strawberries mushed up
  • 1 tbsp sugar free strawberry jam

I can seriously say this thing was huge… and normally pancakes aren’t filling to me, but this oddly was. I feel stuffed!

… and happy! It was pretty tasty!

Time for this chick to hit the gym! Maybe I’ll even meet people?! WHAT?! Crazy talk Becca!

What’s your favorite pancake recipe?!

Link me?!

Comments
  1. Jen says:

    I love your hair!

  2. OH MY GOD. WE HAVE BECOME ULTIMATE TWINNIES. Except you are now running and I am now weight lifting. Uh. Tradzies! I love protein pancakes. They are gods gift to me not being the most angry person in the morning. That is all. ha

  3. Ann says:

    Pancakes look delicious! Good for you for keeping with your goals!

  4. You are so adorable!

    Here’s my go-to recipe! My hubby and I make these all the time!! Whole wheat goodness!

    http://realfoodkatiesway.ca/wordpress/?p=2041

  5. Meg says:

    It’s decided- making this tomorrow morning.

    ….maybe even tonight.

  6. Cait's Plate says:

    Woohoo! Those look amazing (I had the same thing the other day!). Warm strawberries are seriously the best thing on earth 🙂

  7. marlopnwgirl says:

    That looks so yummy!! Delish!! Love the hair.. Looks super cute.. Those are kinda how my bangs are now! Except i have ZERO hair blow drying skills and mine always end up looking ugly.. LOL! They always look amazing when the stylist does them.. but i suck!

Leave a Reply

