Stringing Them Together

Posted: August 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

Well folks, day one on plan is in the books.

Reading all of your comments about my struggles with eating yesterday really touched me… The general consensus is it’s not the end of the world.

But… the fact that I DO acknowledge that this could become a much bigger problem if I don’t start to make changes is the first step in the right direction.

camping 028

Being back in the maritimes I’m lucky to have a ton of options for fresh, local and very good fruit and veggie options at my finger tips.

august 2 034

There is no reason why I shouldn’t, and don’t want to be, taking full advantage of all of the local farmer’s markets, the city market and other options. Everything is so fresh, so tasty, why should I even WANT to fill my body with a severely processed big box store cookie laying around the kitchen?!

When I lived in Montreal I never bought that stuff…. but I also never WANTED that kind of stuff. If I was going to have a cookie, I would spend my time in the kitchen MAKING fresh cookies, not buying whatever bag was on sale that week.

nov29 012

Not only do I LOVE cooking and baking, fresh just TASTES better.

I need to get back to that, to remember how much I prefer the satisfaction of eating something delicious… that I cooked… and that is healthy.

On the weekend camping with my mom it was a really good start at that.

camping 010

Fresh lean cuts of meat, local veggies and good carbs.

Hello, this is what I love! Why was I starting to want easy/convenience/zero satisfaction foods?!

Really good question. Ugh.

So yesterday was day number one back on plan. I made some changes to my meals and it really  helped. Instead of eating my Greek yogurt in the mornings like I always did, I switched that with my last meal of the day.

camping 050

Greek yogurt, peanut butter and a sprinkling of my Saturday farmer’s market find.

camping 034

This stuff is AWESOME.

Both of my parents like to have something sweet at night. In the summer it’s often a bowl of frozen yogurt or icecream. While that’s their choice, I KNOW that’s not in my personal best interest, so being able to whip out my yogurt bowl while they had that with me watching Hell’s Kitchen last night made me feel less… envious?

Let’s be honest here, in the freezer is plain old vanilla icecream… greek yogurt with peanut butter and granola was a hell of a lot tastier for me, and I’m glad I didn’t feel the urge to “just try a bit of icecream to see”. I KNOW that it wouldn’t satisfy any craving to me, so I ate my meal and I was happy.

I know that if I DO want icecream, I’d much rather wait until Saturday after my cheat meal to go get a REAL tasty flavor.

camping 038 Yeah, I’ll take a tiny scoop of peanut butter caramel cookie dough over a big ass bowl of plain old vanilla ANYDAY.

… Kind of a good reminder to me.

So here is to day number 2 in a row. Two meals down and still totally on track, I’ve got this.

Comments
  1. I love farmers markets!!!
    Good luck on day 2 and i agree about the icecream 100% 🙂

  2. allieksmith says:

    You got this Becca! I believe in you 🙂

  3. Sandra says:

    Don’t beat yourself up over a little splurge. You’ve worked so hard and going back home probably brought back memories. I always eat stuff ‘I usually don’t eat’ when I go back home. 😉 It’s just human… You got this now!

  4. Lisa says:

    Glad you are doin somethin to fix your ways. ;). Wish I could go to the “Pumpkin Patch.” Looks like a cute place!

  5. Don’t sweat the small stuff too much! You are already back on plan and doing great!!! Your camping Mexican food looked so delish!!! I’m a such a sucker for a good taco/burrito! : )

  6. Im sorry I have been MIA on commenting but read your blog religiously! I feel the same way when I go home in regards to food and treats. I see a lot of things that I never stocked personally in my own cabinets so it never was hard to resist. but as soon as I go home there are so many cereals, and treats and baked goods because my dad is a fabulous baker. and of course snacks like cassava chips and the such that are so tempting.

    So happy to see how you’ve changed your eating to satisfy that sweet craving particularly at night…that’s when it hits me too.

  7. Congrats on a successful day 1! And here’s to another successful day!

    Knew you could do it 😉

  8. Tiff says:

    You’re right. You DO have this. Go girl! 🙂

  9. You’re gonna be fine. Sometimes just little adjustments are needed and make all the difference. 🙂

    Also, I’m with ya on the cookie thing. I always enjoy home baked over anything else. Why bother with the processed store bought if it’s not as good?

  10. Ann says:

    You are SO amazing! You are working SO hard! The Greek yogurt with peanut butter and granola sounds incredible….I’m going to have to try it!

Leave a Reply

