WIAW: Camping Edition

Posted: August 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

WIAWbutton

It’s Wednesday again! Time for What I Ate Wednesday, Camping Food Edition.

Friday early afternoon mom and I headed towards Fredericton. Dad had already left with the trailer to get everything set up, so yeah… we had an easy drive up, stopped for some last minute groceries and got to the campground mid afternoon.

Mom had suggested what is (obviously….) one of my favorite foods for dinner, and I was totally on board. Once dinner time rolled around I got to work on food prep.

camping 002

camping 003

camping 004

While mom tossed some ground beef in a pan and cooked it with taco seasoning, I got to work on the stove.

camping 006 As everything was cooking I was running inside between flips to set the table and get everything set up for a taco bar style dinner.

camping 007

The best part about a taco bar? It allowed us to cook all the components of the meal at once, we were both able to eat the dinner our way. Me with an excessive amount of veggies, lots of my smoky chipotle salsa and a tiny bit of cheese, and mom’s with sour cream and built like a more “traditional” taco.

camping 010

… and what was that on the table?! Oh yes, last time the parents were across border camping mom picked me up a bottle of Skinny Girl Margarita! I’ve heard nothing but good things about it and I’m a HUGE tequila fan so I was dying to try it.

camping 012 I will say this definitely did NOT disappoint. The taste was perfectly margarita-y and I loved it….. and really hope it comes to Canada ASAP.

… or I can see a road trip to pick up some more soon!

Post meal we had some energy to burn… so clearly the only thing to do was mini golf!

camping 023 Yeah… there was a back log of people ahead of us so we had time to kill… and I HAD been drinking tequila?!

Saturday morning was a farmer’s market trip for fresh veggies, granola, bread and chicken for dinner.

camping 030

And yeah, giant zucchini. This thing was massive. And only $2…. and ginormously tasty when grilled!

camping 032 Tossed a few new carrots on the bbq with my zucchini. A little bit random for me, but they were really tasty! Good decision, and one I highly suggest trying!

Dinner was put together with farmer’s market finds… Grilled organic garlic peppercorn chicken, lots of fresh veggies and all natural multigrain bread.

camping 035

All in all, I was a little disappointed by the bread, it was really good, but SO heavy. It literally sat like a rock in my stomach. Not too impressed. Butttttt….. .

camping 036 I melted a sliver of brie on the bbq while cooking the chicken and that on the warm bread…. yeah… .

camping 037 A nice glass of red wine would have been the perfect pairing with this bread and cheese… if there is one thing I learned to love in Quebec it is definitely brie, bread and red wine.

Love.

What’s your favorite kind of cheese?!

Best thing you ate this week?

In case you missed the previous WIAW:

Comments
  1. Becca, come to the UK and cook for me please!!! All looks lush!!! x x

  2. ausaryn / T says:

    Skinnygirl Margs are in Canada! They have them in Kitchener/Waterloo and Toronto for sure. If we have them in the KDUB… any well stocked liquor store should have them. Delicious and strong….*drool*

  3. Lisa says:

    mmm, you had me at cheese =) I too love the skinnygirl Margarita! You always make me crave veggies, they look super good!

  4. marlopnwgirl says:

    It all looks so yummy!!!

  5. Thanks for visiting my blog:) You manage to make veggies look tempting! I am struggling with cheese right now because I like to snack on it but have been told I need to lower my saturated fat intake because of my cholesterol. So I am trying to find fat free cheeses and there just are not many to be found. So sad. Best thing I ate this week… if you mean best tasting… I’d have to say the fro-yo I had, off plan, Friday night. Oh yummy.

  6. allieksmith says:

    Yay for camping!! GREAT camping eats! Mine are usually burgers and dogs haha. And cheese ahhhh I love any cheese!

  7. Lauren says:

    Yummy! For creamy – I like brie the best. For flavor – I love Pepper Jack!

  8. So many cheeses, so little time. I like the hard cheeses best like asiago, parmesan reggiano, but I also like Manchego, Jarlsberg, and Gouda

  9. I love Gruyere. But I’d take some warm brie also!
    Love the taco bar idea!

  10. Sam says:

    you’re making me STARVING! those veggies look incredible.
    Sam @ fitness food & faith (giveaway today!)

  11. aaah I want that zucchini! it looks so big and beautiful on the grill! gotta love the farmer’s market!

  12. Yumm this all looks great! Cheese…give me some nowww 🙂

  13. My favorite nom of the week was by far the sushi I had on Monday. Holy nom do I want to eat that everyday of my life. Mozzerella is my favorite. I think I could eat it everyday. In fact-I pretty much do. I like sharp cheeses a lot as well though…oh choices.

  14. Ann says:

    EVERYTHING looked delicious! You make healthy food look tasty! I’ve heard of Skinny Girl Margaritas – but not tried it yet!

  15. Woah that zucc is HUGE! 🙂 I bet it was super tasty. 🙂
    Happy WIAWing!

    Whitney

  16. ahahaha i just had a giant zuke too! i made one for me and one for paul and halway though his (after mine was gone baby gone) paul shouts “NO MORE GREEN!” and flung the plate over to me to finish. twas hilarious =)

    Hope you had a fab WIAW… the taco bar looks glorious!

  17. So much grillin’ goin’ on! love all the chargrilled veggies, yum!

Leave a Reply

