Hunchback Look

Posted: August 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

So I have allergies.

BAD allergies.

…. That only bother me in the Maritimes.

okay, once… on a date… at a summer festival in the mountains outside of Montreal my eyes swelled shut. But that was once… on a date. Ugh.

Ever since I’ve been back home I’ve really been struggling with them.

I finally gave in Monday and picked up some allergy pills that seemed to be working… but left me extremely lethargic…. Despite the “non-drowsy formula”.

That is until 1am this morning when I was wide awake for several hours, sneezing, wanting to claw out my eyes and feeling like absolute garbage.

My 5:45am alarm was rough, my eyes were swollen almost shut and so dry. After splashing some water on my face and having my breakfast I felt slightly more human.

… But as soon as I got home from dropping mom off I turned on the last season of Laguna Beach on demand and promptly fell into rich kid dreams on the couch with Fritz by my side. He always knows when I’m not feeling so hot.

I feel like an absolute freak with my red, itchy, excessively swollen eyes, but I have a ton of errands to run today, as well as a workout I need to get in. I’ve been hiding out in baseball hats pulled low over my eyes hoping to hide my freak look. All I need is a hunchback and I’d be one hell of a catch.

… I don’t think it’s working.

So unfortunately… that’s all I’ve got today. I just feel like absolute &%*

On my list of errands today is a stop at the pharmacy to try and find another brand of allergy pill… anything to make me feel slightly more human.

I’ll leave you with this… my new favorite mid morning snack… tuna, with a tbsp of BBQ sauce, mustard, cayanne pepper and a wedge of laughing cow mushed together on white cheddar rice cakes. The BBQ sauce makes it.

camping

My life right now. tasty foods, kleenex and water.

Fun.

Do you suffer from allergies?

… if so… favorite brand of meds?!

Comments
  1. I know that Benadryl helps me the most, but also makes me a zombie. Allergies are miserable! 😦

  2. Kimmy says:

    Sorry to hear this Becca 😦 I have food allergies which have resulted in swollen eyes (badly). It was NEVER fun. Mine swelled to the point that I had to go to the ER to get a shot of Benadryl in my hip and take steroids for a week. Now I take Benadryl if I feel something coming on but it makes me extremely drowsy. I’m afraid I don’t have any other advice. But I hope it clears up soon! I know how much it sucks!

  3. Sorry to hear you’re feeling so crappy. I don’t have allergies and haven’t used allergy medication before so I’m no help 😦 Hope you feel better soon!!

  4. Lisa says:

    Ok girl, I totally have to try that tuna combo! Sounds SOOO good!

  5. Dawn says:

    I hope you feel better soon. I have been trying to fight it off….it’s worse today.

    The tuna creation you made sounds interesting.

  6. kdbaker05 says:

    I take OTC Zyrtec and Sudafed PE together that always seems to knock them out (even the off brands work well for me).

  7. Dotsie says:

    I take Zyrtec at night and I’m great the next day! Good luck! Allergies are so so miserable!

  8. I get horrible allergies. I usually don’t take anything for them though since I haven’t found anything that works. I usualy get really bad sinus headaches from them and just try and take a nap. Also, I found that showering sometimes twice a day especially before bed to get off all the pollens from your skin and hair has helped. As with washing bed sheets a few times a week, keeping the house super clean and not opening windows. I hope you start feeling better pronto!

  9. Sorry ’bout the allergies. I’d be hitting up the sunglasses. And singing some Cory Hart. “I wear my suuunnnnglasses at night…”

  10. Kerryne says:

    Allergies SUCK. I have never had them before but for the last week I have been sneezing off the hook, nose running, and burning itchy eyes. UGH… feeling your pain. I hope you get feeling better soon and I am dying to try that tuna snack, holy yum that sounds good!

  11. Ann says:

    Oh, Becca…I hope you feel better. I have allergies, but it’s towards food. I’m allergic to ALL seafood and shell fish, cinnamon and allspice. Unfortunately, allspice is in commercial ketchups, worcestershire sauce, BBQ sauces and most meat marinades… so I have to be careful. I have prescriptions for them and carry epi pens… I feel you pain!

  12. Erin says:

    I’ve tried a lot of different allergy meds and my absolute fave is loratadine (i.e. Claritin). All of the others I tried had side effects such as drowsiness, that floaty head feeling, etc. I have taken this for several years (during the spring/summer) and don’t notice any side effects at all. FYI…when you’re in the midst of an allergy attack it will take several days for it to kick in so don’t give up on it if it doesn’t work right away.

Leave a Reply

