Just Not Feeling It

Posted: August 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

Yup… it was one of those days.

This morning during cardio? … ugh, just not feeling it. I survived 35 minutes but it wasn’t earth shattering by any means.

I got home and my allergies were acting up.

BIG TIME.

I had a nap… in the sun.

Yes. the sun FINALLY appeared.

Then I headed off for leg day.

And oh boy did it suck. I was just not feeling it. At all. I felt heavy, weak and just off.

You know what happens when workouts like this happen? Yeah, people get hurt.

I did squats and deadlifts…. and then promptly headed to grab my stuff and enjoy my post workout meal.

camping 090I knew it was better to not finish and kill legs on Sunday instead rather than risk injury.

Plus… sometimes better things pop up.

After picking mom up at work we hit the Pumpkin Patch for lots of fresh veggies, I grabbed a piece of top sirloin at the butcher shop and we headed home to make dinner.

camping 091 

Spaghetti squash, onion, cauliflower and steak… I nommed my big hunks of grilled zucchini before snapping this. Oops!

Then the pitter patter of little feet… and accompanying big feet… stomped up the steps and mom and I headed out to play with my nephew while my brother and dad fixed a tire.

camping 093 There was baseball…

camping 094 Bike riding…

camping 095

A promise from my brother I could teach him to drive when he turns 16.

… while talking on a cell phone… digging through a gym bag… and putting on lip gloss.

Help us now.

And of course no night out in the country is complete without a tractor vs bike race.

camping 096 … sometimes running around the yard with a 2 year old and the rest of your family is better than dealing with silly guilt over slacking on a workout.

You know why? … because for once I’m living life and not living for the gym.

And it feels kind of really nice.

How is your week going?!

Comments
  1. I tried to like this post but then tried to make me sign up for wordpress. So. I LOVE THIS POST!! And I lvoe this ATTITUDE.

  2. Klh says:

    Good for you for listening to your body and stopping the workout! Your nephew is too cute…hanging w/ the little guys always brightens my day a little!

    Katie : )

  3. I love the fact that you are like me, you might feel rubbish but as soon as your nephew turns up the world automattically comes a better place! I feel like that with “my” boys” – so much the better when they get grumpy and tired you can hand them back! Love the blog Becca x x x

  4. Good decision to not push yourself to go through with a workout you weren’t feeling. Would hate to see you injured!

    My week is going so-so. I hope you having a great week!

  5. marlopnwgirl says:

    Great post Becs. This is what its about.. keep staying positive.

  6. Lisa says:

    I love it. Kids definitely make you realize what’s important and take your mind off of your own stuff. Gotta love it.

  7. Sometimes those days just pops up, good job for getting so much workout in even though you didn’t feel it. AND good for you that you listened to your body and quit before you injured yourself! 🙂

  8. Heather says:

    I completely know that feeling but usually I end up beating myself up and eating oreos so you’re my hero 🙂

    I love that you’re finding such a great balance in life. Seeing what we’re capable of is awesome but the people in our lives is what life is really all about!

    Have a great weekend!

  9. Kelsey says:

    i wish i had some delicious sirloin tonight! i’ll have to go pick up some more meat at the market. i think all i have right now is bison..which isnt that bad either i guess.

    my parents have pictures of us in the backyard on our bikes- its so fun to look at and i can still remember how it felt- memories are priceless and this moment will definitely never be forgotten in your mind, or theirs ❤

    xoxo

  10. Dotsie says:

    I really love the line-you’re living life, not living for the gym. Really hit home for me.

    Glad you’re enjoying your family 🙂

  11. Ann says:

    Hi Becca! I’ve been out of town all week – at Disney – so I wasn’t on-line much….I just thought about you and noticed you’ve been off-line, too. I hope you’re feeling better and thinking of you…

  12. We have that same t-ball set, lol. Your dinner looks great. I could totally go for a steak right now.

Leave a Reply

