Overwhelmed

Posted: August 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

Yes… I’m still alive. Thursday was just a crazy busy day…. Friday was running around and then fleeing town for a weekend with spotty at best internet so no phone blogging.

I think the break was good though, I was feeling “obligated” to blog when really I felt like NOTHING was going on. Lame.

So while the break was refreshing, freeing and really just… NICE… the problem I have with taking a break from blogging is getting back into it. I find it so overwhelming having SO much to say and catch up on that I just put it off.

Longer… and longer… and then the blog is DOA. Like majorly.

Not cool.

So before I get into anything else this week, I’m simply giving the cliff-note/photo recap of the last four days. Easy enough right?

On Thursday I was invited out for a playschool field trip. Clearly I said yes.

 

camping 097

Gillian picked me up and we headed off to Oak Point with Griffin and his school group. They played on the splash pad, had snacks and enjoyed the playground.

camping 099

THANKFULLY Gillian did not go into labour which clearly would have resulted in her driving ME to the hospital for an extreme panic attack. Yeah. Eek.

Friday the fog was out in fullllllllll force.

aug 23 005 This was a little gross, so I made a (very) last minute decision to flee town with the parents.

We headed up to Coles Island, NB camping.

aug 23 008 The weather was MUCH nicer inland, it got quite hot Saturday and a trip to the giant flea market in Sussex and a birthday visit from my brother’s family rounded out the day. I took absolutely zero photos which kind of sucks… but in a way it really doesn’t.

aug 23 009

Instead of thinking about photos and capturing the moments I was just enjoying them. People watching with my mom and Gillian, roasting marshmallows and sharing my icecream with Griffin and Christian… It was just… Fun and relaxing.

Sunday was hot hot hot. My dad wasn’t feeling so hot, so we headed back to the city fairly fast.

Once back in the city I grabbed a meal and headed direct into town.

I KILLED legs. I don’t know what it is about Sunday leg day but I love it. It’s so different than my old leg day that the change must just be refreshing? Who knows. More on that in another post though!

On the way home from the gym I picked up the goods for my brother’s (THIRTIETH) birthday dinner, the cake and hit the shower as soon as I got home.

aug 23 012 Dinner was had, playtime with my nephew was had while my brother ran to town and then it was birthday cake time.

Typical for my  brother he wanted a DQ icecream cake. Yum.

aug 23 014

All in all, it was a good… very good… four days. I feel back on track, I feel more like myself, I feel relaxed and happy.

… Now if only I could find a frickin job. Ugh.

And just because…

aug 23 001 Gratuitous Fritz shot. Captain lazy at his finest.

How was YOUR weekend!?

What did I miss?!

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    Hi Becca! It looks like you had a relaxing blog-cation! I’m glad you took some time to yourself…I was just wondering how you were.

    My week last week was GREAT! I spent the entire week in Disney, but I came home with a cold. I got soaked in an afternoon rain storm and I think that did it.

    I’m glad you enjoyed your time away from the computer…

  2. Lisa says:

    Good to hear you are back! Sounds like a great few days, something you probably needed. Oh, love the Superman cake =)

  3. I too struggle to get back into the grove of blogging once I take a day (or two) off obviously. Just take a look at my blog right now, today was the first day I posted since early last week I think.

    My weekend was good! Celebrated my brother’s graduation from high school on Saturday with family and some of his friends came out that evening for a fire. Bo weighs in at 25.4 pounds now! Um yea, that’s about it haha.

    Positive thoughts and good vibes are being sent your way for the job search!

  4. marlopnwgirl says:

    LOL!!! Love the DQ cake.. Those things are good! That picture of the wet fog reminds me of fall.. Its a coming!!

  5. Dotsie says:

    Just so you know, the Fritz pics make my day 🙂

    My wknd was lame…

    Love your bro’s cake! Hehe

  6. chelsea says:

    LOL! Look at Fritz! I love that cat! Wow….the fog. I live in Arizona. I don’t think I ever, ever, ever see fog in AZ :o)

  7. Heather says:

    Glad you’re back! I was starting to get worried!

  8. I had a DQ ice cream cake at a birthday party when I was like 7? And I’ve been dreaming about it ever since! Haha, I’m so happy to see it’s on a blog.. usually that kind of stuff is banned! Love that you’re keeping it real 😀 My weekend was good as well! Went to Boston and reunited with the fam. Doesn’t get much better in my book!

  9. jeepers, that picture is about to put me in labour. those shorts are now retired.

Leave a Reply

