How Becca Got Her Groove Back

Posted: August 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

It should really be no shock to anyone that the last month has held a lot of big events and changes for me.

I competed in the 2011 IDFA National Capital Classic.

aug 23 017

I finalized packing up my life, left my career and moved 1000 miles away… to move in with my parents.

aug 23 022

I embraced family life and spent a ton of time with my family and friends

camping 023

…. But I also think it’s not really a huge surprise that I’ve struggled a bit with the changes.

Transitioning to offseason… debating on ever competing again… living at home… being out of my comfort zone… losing my routine… unemployment.

I knew it would take time, I knew that eventually it would all just hit me.

… and it hit me hard. Last week I just craved routine, I craved normalcy.  So while I’m still not working and I knew life would happen, I decided to make some changes to well… feel more like ME.

After dropping mom off at work at 6:45 in the mornings I’ve been popping into the gym to do my cardio.

aug 23 020 I’ve reverted to eating a lot of foods I stopped eating when I moved home for whatever reason.

Yes, the return of banana oats happened…. and is amazing everyday before my workout.

266726_10150254623059662_509844661_7265124_3227210_o

My days are spent working on resumes, sending out resumes, writing, working, doing anything to keep some mental activity going… and hopefully advancing my job search even if only a little bit.

… the savings won’t last forever right?!

Mid afternoon I head back to town, hit the gym for my workout. While I’m sticking to a fairly normal routine, I’ve switched up my actual workouts immensely.

This includes training back and shoulders twice (once on their own, once together), and legs twice.

Now that I’m not over cardio’d my legs feel much better and my strength is returning much faster than expected.

Mid week I train hard and heavy. Simple movements, squats, stiff legged deadlifts, extensions, hamstring curls, etc etc.

Sundays I train very differently than what I’m used to. Heavy deadlifts start the workout, front squats, one leg legpress, walking lunges, jump squats. It changes, but for the last two weeks I’ve been doing this workout it’s killed my legs. Pain. Mucho pain.

I love it.

I’ve been experimenting with supersets, giant sets and different exercises and combinations. I am sore… 99% of the time. It’s kind of fun and challenging and I’m loving it.

august 2 017 This leaves my evenings open for family, friends, being a bum and well.. living life.

It’s only a bit of routine and obviously once my day time job search turns into a real day job changes will have to be made…. but for now, things are turning around.

My body is evening out, I feel good mentally and physically and I’m enjoying life.

So I guess that means Becca is back?!

Have you ever felt… off?

How did you get back on track?

Comments
  1. Genie says:

    Eww! I have been off for over a year. Sucks balls, but it will come back in due time. Hope you find yourself soon! 🙂

  2. Ann says:

    I’m glad you’re finding your stride again. Yeah, I’ve been off before and it is extremely difficult to get back on track! When that happens, I decide it’s simply time to START OVER! Usually that gets the enthusiasm going!

  3. OMG do I ever feel off track now, and I have numerous times in the past. I struggle a lot with getting back on track. Like now for instance, this has been going on since October! I know I need to get back on track but I just haven’t figured out how to get both sides of my brain together on the same track!

    I’m so glad that you’re getting yourself back on track and are feeling more like yourself. I need to be more like you!

  4. Wow, that was quite a few changes! Sounds like you have a great plan, though! 🙂

  5. Lisa says:

    Good for you Becca, I’m happy for you. Keeping my fingers crossed you’ll find that job soon!

  6. Yay for feeling back to yourself again
    Oats totally make things better, lol 🙂

  7. Have I felt off? OMG yes. Post competition my body is rejecting foods I loved and by that I mean eggs! I am constantly feeling sick : ( so right now its about finding other protein sources that I can supplement with (I feel like my life is over because I love break fast food :()

    And as you know I am on the perfect peaking bandwagon now! Sometimes you just need to be accountable to someone to make it through.

  8. Glad you found yourself again! I love the routine you have created for yourself 🙂

  9. Allie says:

    Yay happy that you are getting your groove back!!!

  10. I actually feel off right now since my stress fracture (the same day as your comp). I am glad to see you are finally breaking out though. Hopefully I can follow suite. 🙂

  11. YAY for even-ing out!! 🙂 I feel really off right now too — we are in the process of moving and right now I live + gym 40 min from where I work so it’s been just chaotic. Things are still getting done…but my day is not over until 9pm and then I’m in bed. BUT! That will all be changing by this weekend — we’ll be all moved in & I’ll be 9 minutes away from my job!

  12. Heather says:

    Seriously good for you for cutting yourself some slack. Of course you’re going to feel a bit beaten up by all of those changes!!!

    What is your dream job and why do you love fashion? I would love to see you blog about that (and maybe you can help me with my own fashion disasters 🙂

Leave a Reply

