WIAW: Granola Edition

Posted: August 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

WIAWbutton

It’s time for What I Ate Wednesday! The idea courtesy of the wonderful Jen at Peas and Crayons.

My eats have been a little random this week.

aug 23 012 

aug 23 019 

aug 23 032

Today began my quest to make the best salty and sweet granola bars. Gillian is a huge fan of an organic/natural granola bar here by the “Granola Girl”… but umm… they’re kind of super expensive. So why can’t I make them for us myself?

… Much cheaper!

So this morning I hit the bulk barn which oddly has A LOT of organic and natural products… at much lower prices. I decided to go simple until I bang out a recipe and then start adding the “fancy stuff” from the original bars I’m trying to copy.

I started with a basic recipe… and a piece of paper to actually write down what and how much I put in them.

… yes, I’m as shocked as you are.

aug 23 024

aug 23 028

I made a very small batch so I don’t waste if well… they were a giant disaster.

aug 23 029

I baked them at 350… but less time than the original recipe called for.

Unfortunately they were still a bit dry and crumbly… but over all I give them a two thumbs up for a decent start!

aug 23 031 I think for now this batch will be tasty crumbled over my greek yogurt.

Yum yum.

… and now… back to the drawing board. I’m thinking more honey, less baking.

We shall see!

Have you ever made homemade granola bars?

Comments
  1. Genie says:

    I have made some banging granola bars before. Amazing texture! I can’t remember if I posted the recipe on my blog or not, but I will try to find it.

  2. Amanda says:

    I had to laugh when I saw multiple shots of broccoli slaw as I was eating… broccoli slaw. I think there is almost nothing it can’t be added to!
    Those granola bars look impressive, especially for a first try! I eagerly anticipate the final Becca approved version to come…

  3. I’ve made some pretty awesome granola bars before, I can give you the recipe if you want 🙂

  4. Ohh yum, I’d eat one for sure!

    Whitney

  5. Ann says:

    The granola bars sound delicious! It was an eclectic week of eating…but yummy! I also read you previous post (computer issues – sorry I didn’t comment earlier). Anyway – I’m glad you’re taking time to think about your life and figure out what’s next.

  6. Mandiee says:

    I always make small batches when I’m trying out recipes, too. I’d rather not waste ingredients if it were a total flop! I can’t wait to see the recipe for your granola bars. They look delicious!

  7. I have done the homemade granola bars before and haven’t had the best of luck. They usually turn to crumbles and I just have to call it granola…. 😦

  8. Kudos to you for experimenting in the kitchen! I’m scared for the day I move out and have to actually *gasp* cook all of my meals myself. Let us know how attempt #2 turns out!

  9. I’ve been wanting to make my own granola bars for a while, but never gotten around to it. Maybe it is about time….

Leave a Reply

