Stop Curling In My Squat Rack

Posted: August 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

Dear Silly Boys at My Gym,

rack Love, Becca

Normally my Sunday workouts are super nice. Near empty gym, no hassles, just a good solid leg workout.

Not so much yesterday.

I guess I can blame it on the torrential downpour making life boring enough for people to flock to the gym yesterday but ugh, it was busy!

Walking into the weight room I saw the empty squat rack and made a beeline for it…. unfortunately someone else beat me too it… loaded on a HUGE ten pound plate on each side and proceeded to do bicep curls. Like really? Seriously?!

Lame.

I stood… I wait… I got annoyed…

Finally he vacated and I staked my claim.

I’ve been pyramiding my big lifts lately. Two sets at a warm up weight, add weight, 2 sets of 6-8, add weight, 2 sets 6-8, etc until I max out,… then I go backwards down.

  • Deadlifts (from the floor). Pyramid sets.
  • Stiff Leg Deads 4 X 8
  • Front Squats 4 X 8
  • One Legged Leg Press 6 X 5 Superset w/ calf raises 6 X 15-20

I was DONE after that. I really find my strength is going up fast on legs. I accredit it to less cardio, more food. Whatever it is I’m actually enjoying training legs again, so it’s a win.

I did ten minutes of very light cardio after just to get my legs moving then it was home again.

… In other news:

Still no new baby Goldie.

The wind was INSANE last night when the tail end of Irene hit. No rain, but the wind kept me (and the Fritz) up most of the night. Not fun.

A few new options have began opening up to me and I’m exploring them. Hopefully some good news will pop up soon!

Happy Monday!
How was your weekend?!
Gym pet peeve?!

Comments
  1. lovetotrain says:

    oh my gosh… YES- I just ranted about silly boys curling in the squat rack the other day. Number 1 pet peeve!! Also when they ( same silly boys) lift ridiculously heavy weights like on the bench press and half their back comes off the bench to try and do the rep. If you can’t do it without proper form you’re cheating and just look like a dumbass.

  2. allieksmith says:

    Yay for training legs!!! And pyramid sets.. those are my favorite!

  3. Heather says:

    My gym keeps an incline bench under the squat rack for people that want to use it as a bench press. Its so awkward to move out of the way!!!! Annoying!

    Other pet peeve, young punk guys who are there to show off with their buddies and super crowded days when it smells oh so ripe.
    Yuck!

  4. Ann says:

    I hate when people are rude in gyms…and pretty much every where else! I look forward to your good news!

  5. Lisa says:

    I got a good laugh when you tweeted that =) Gym pet peeve is definitely hogging equipment. Any equipment, for long periods of time. Grunting loud too, not necessary.

Leave a Reply

