WIAW: Grilled Pizza

Posted: August 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

Fun fact of the day thanks to the 11am X-Weighted show:

Did you know that if you’re overweight in your teenage years you have an EIGHTY percent chance of staying the same in your adult years?

Proud to be, and confident I will always be, in that 20% that changes their life.

ANYWAY!

It’s Wednesday! … I think!?

WIAWbutton

Honestly, now that I’m back to “normal”… or whatever “normal” is for ME… my meals aren’t that exciting. But for my cheat meal Saturday I did whip up something I had been dying to try since I had seen it around blog land.

Grilled Pizza!

aug 23 076

As soon as we got home from the Farmer’s Market I popped back to town, got the stuff I needed and immediately got to work.

I really really really wish I remembered where I found this crust recipe. I have re-googled and searched but have no idea. Opps. Bad blogger.

Regardless, here is the recipe I used. If anyone knows who to give credit to, please let me know!

Multigrain Pizza Crust:

  • 1 1/3C warm water
  • 2 1/4 tsp dry active yeast
  • 1 tsp honey

Dissolve above ingredients until foamy.

  • 1 1/2 c all purpose flour
  • 1 c whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c cornmeal
  • 1/2 c ground flaxseed
  • 1 tsp salt

Mix dry ingredients and then add in water mixture. Turn out on floured (I used a mix of whole wheat and cornmeal) surfaced and knead for 12-15 minutes (… or the length of three songs on your ipod).

aug 23 068

Once it’s kneaded, shape into a ball, toss it in a lightly greased bowl, cover and let rise 1 1/2 to 2 hours. (… on the warm stove helps it rise… apparently)

aug 23 070

Meanwhile, roast a head of cauliflower, shred, add an egg, a cup of mozzarella and mix it all up. Press into a cookie sheet, sprinkle with italian seasonings and bake at 350 until crispy.

 

aug 23 071

This make a pretty badass, bread like appetizer. Dipped in some plain old marinara sauce made this perfection.

aug 23 073

After your two hour rising time is up, turn it out on a floured surface again and roll it out. Since I was planning on pleasing several different people/tastes I made two bigger crusts and one mini one.

aug 23 072

After heating up the BBQ I tossed each crust on for 2-3 minutes. Once the top side started to bubble a bit and the bottom looked down I brought them back in the house, topped the grilled side with the goods, then returned them to the bbq until the cheese melted.

We had plain old pepperoni and cheese (… mostly for Griffin and my dad)

aug 23 074

Then there was a bbq pulled chicken, mushrooms and some peppers with cheese for mom and Gillian.

aug 23 075

… and then of course for me. A mini pizza with pulled bbq chicken, a ton of onions and peppers.

I actually only ate half of this. I was shocked. So much for a huge cheat meal.

 

aug 23 077

I was a little worried about how the mutligrain crust would go on the bbq… and how the family would like it, but it was a hit!

It was a lot of time, but really not a lot of effort to make, so that’s winning in my books!

Have you ever tried grilled pizza?!

Comments
  1. Um yeah, nom!

    My hubby still claims the grilled pizza he made was the best ever…I may have to agree!

  2. I’ve never had grilled pizza, but my husband and I do like to grill our homemade pizza for just a few minutes to really crisp up the crust once it’s done baking in the oven! That dough recipe looks fab!

  3. Faith Keith says:

    um….That looks amazing!!!!! *prints recipe*

  4. Ann says:

    I LOVE grilled pizza…there is nothing like it, but your recipe is AMAZING! I’m so glad you posted it! I love the addition of flax seed!

  5. Never tried grilled pizza, but it sounds really yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

