Workout Wednesday

Posted: August 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

Today, for the second day in a row, I got to the gym around 9am… with coffee in hand and plans to do my full workout and cardio. All.At.Once.

aug 23 059Today was slightly easier going than yesterday.

It may have been due to a full 8-9 hours of sleep for once… or it may have been due to the very interesting boy who works out at that time… but either way, I was ready.

Yesterday was back and bicep day:

  • Pullups 4 X fail
  • Bent over BB row (pyramid sets)
  • Wide grip lat pulldown 4 X 6-8 superset with straight arm pressdowns 4 X 12
  • High rope pull 6 X 6 superset with rope hammer curls 6 x 6
  • EZ bar curls 3 x 5, 2 x 8

I finished it up with 15 minutes of intervals on the stepmill and 15 minutes of incline walking. I wasn’t pushing it, though. It was just to get moving.

Today was chest and triceps:

  • Flat bb bench press (pyramid sets)
  • DB incline press 5 X 6
  • DB incline flies 4 X 8 superset to failure with incline press
  • Pec dec 4 X12
  • Weighted dips 4 X failure
  • Skull crushers 3 X 8 superset with close grip bench press 3 x 8

Cardio was a hard day, 20 minutes treadmill sprints (ew) and 10 minutes of incline walking… with a ton of stretching. My legs are pretty stiff and achy and tomorrow is leg day soooo yeah, preventative measures as much as possible.

… as well as a voltaren rub down after my shower.

How do you prevent soreness?

… please don’t even bother suggesting an ice bath, I’ll tell you you’re bat &%$^ crazy. HAHA!

Comments
  1. Allie says:

    Great job with your workouts 🙂

  2. Faith Keith says:

    PAHAHHAHAA “… please don’t even bother suggesting an ice bath, I’ll tell you you’re bat &%$^ crazy. HAHA!”

    LOTS of water, stretching and aminos and glutamine! and then I make sure to move a lot the next day.

    You’re hilarious

  3. kathleen says:

    Yeah. Never tried an ice bath. Just looks painful.

  4. Kerryne says:

    I am with you on the ice baths… people are insane. Foam rolling is amazing, have you done that? I did a major, MAJOR leg workout on Monday. I haven’t worked them that hard in months. I foam rolled afterwards and did some stretching and yes I was still pretty sore the next day but no where near as sore as I should have been. It’s amazing!

  5. Libby says:

    Hi! I’ve been following your blog for awhile and love reading about what you’re eating and your workouts…so much so that you’ve inspired me to start training for my first figure competition! Whenever I’m afraid I’m going to be sore the next day, I do lots and lots of foam rolling! I won’t say that I never get sore, but it helps so much. It hurts like crazy the first few times you do it, but after awhile it turns into a good sort of pain.

  6. klh says:

    Ice bath : ) Lots of stretching, foam rolling and continue using those muscles throughout the day…althought i really dont think you can prevent soreness. Hope leg day goes well for you!

    Katie : )

  7. Lauren says:

    I swear by foam rolling. I do throw in ice baths every once in a while, but foam rolling hasworked wonders on my always tight hips and legs.

  8. Dunno if it actually help prevent soreness, but I like to think that a massage loosens the muscles. And it feels good, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

