Real Girl Confidence

Posted: September 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s no big secret I haven’t felt 100% like me since I left my job/moved.

I rarely wear makeup…. well more than my usual tinted moisturizer and mascara… I haven’t worn jeans since I moved… and even longer before that since it was so hot in Montreal.

My confidence was still there, but hidden. I didn’t feel like “the old Becca”. Last night I decided to change that.

I was invited out to a show, and had planned to meet Elisa for a glass of wine before hand. After digging through my room and opening a few boxes I concluded I had nothing.to.wear.

Typical chick right?

Clearly money isn’t flowing right now so I went to a typical cheap, trashy store in hopes of finding something workable. For a grand total of $4 plus tax I came home with a shirt that… 6 months ago I would have had ZERO problem rocking, yet as the bag sat on the table I was unsure of whether or not I’d feel comfortable in it… in public.

So I showered… and did my hair… and put on makeup… like REAL makeup. I busted out eyeliner people. Scary.

And then I grabbed the bag and headed to my room.

I put on my favorite ripped up cropped jeans, a pair of 5inch patent red leather wedges and… the shirt.

And in that moment I felt like me.

I didn’t feel like the big giant bag of fail or fat or out of shape.

aug 23 090

i thought I would spend the night worrying that my back fat might be on display … what people would think about my clearly see through shirt… but I didn’t.

There was no tugging, there was no bathroom checks in the mirror. Just a nice night out.

Who knew a little eyeliner and a $4 shirt would complete the change back to me.

Do you find your outfit/makeup can effect your mood?

Comments
  1. Kathy says:

    Wow! you look great! WE are our worst critics . And at $4 that shirt is awesome. Have a great weekend-
    PS luv your blog:)

  2. Maya says:

    you look perfect and the t-shirt for 4$ was a perfect deal… I read your blog on my blackberry so I didn’t see the pictures until now. I imagined something totally different for 4 bucks :)…

  3. Cute!!

    Yes both things definitely effect my mood. Especially when I just cannot find anything to wear. It can be so stressful even though I could probably wear a brown paper sack and nobody would bat an eyelash. Glad you had a fun night!

  4. Lisa says:

    Hot damn Becca! look at that see-through hotness.

  5. Tenecia says:

    You’re so fashionable & sassy! Love it!!!

    T.

  6. You look stunning! I wish I could pull something like that off! X x gorgeous girl x x x

  7. Ann says:

    You look great! I find that when I’m not feeling well, I take extra care with my appearance, because looking better always helps! It’s amazing how a $4 can inspire you!

    I just had a shot of bourbon inspire an entire meal! ….in a good way!

  8. klh says:

    Cute outfit! Good for you for going out and enjoying yourself! I would have used the excuse that I have nothing to wear in order to not go! An outfit can totally effect my mood and usually its negatively : (

    Katie : )

  9. I love the shirt! It looks great! I don’t think I could ever rock that. I feel most comfortable in my favorite pair of blue jeans and a white tank. Simple but classy and oh so comfortable!

  10. That’s a hot shirt! Love it! I know exactly what you mean. Nothing makes me feel worse than clothes that don’t fit well. A new shirt and some makeup can make a big difference.

  11. Wow, that looked great! I’m glad you’re taking steps to getting back to the real you! I’m working on that myself.

Leave a Reply

