So You Want to Date…

Posted: September 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

… a figure competitor

… a “healthy living blogger”

… a hot mess

… ME?!

Well then, there are probably a few things (…. or many things) you should know.

  • Yes, I am a (semi-retired) figure competitor. No, that does not mean I’m crazy, obsessive, scary or unhealthy. I do track macros year round, frequent the gym, enjoy being active in general and I do get fairly strict in prep… but prove you’re worth my time and I will always make time for you. It’s as simple as that.

capclassic 036

  • Along those same lines… I don’t expect you to understand or “get” my lifestyle and choices in life, but I do expect you to respect them. I can take teasing and joking, hell I’ll even make fun of myself… but you’ve all heard the saying, “a drunk man’s words are a sober man’s thoughts? Well, joking man’s running joke is often his misunderstood distaste? Yeah, I’ll go with that. Regardless, know when to draw the line and when I’m really not in the mood to joke.

capclassic 051

  • I rarely drink, and when I do it’s not much at all. I guess you could consider me a social drinker. You know, wine and dinner, not a 6pack and passed out on the couch by 9pm. If your idea of a good time is a flat of beer, beer pong and going to the bar to “get out.of.control.” then don’t even bother.

boot

  • Yes, I do have facebook… and twitter… and a blog. But no, I will not add you right away. Ever. So don’t even bother asking. It’s all well and good to want to see my show photos, my life in Montreal and “who I am”… but I would much rather you get to know ME for who I am now and how I am in person rather than what you learn from creeping my facebook. All in good time! Most people automatically assume “shallow”… “only want to look good in a bikini”… “High maintenance”… when they see my online personality. That couldn’t be further from the truth.

lala 004

  • Yes, I have a blog. I will take random photos, refer to my “blog friends”, cook weird food and over-share on the regular… but Newsflash, that’s just who I am. I will fully respect your privacy (… like you respect my lifestyle) if you wish, but blogging has become my outlet and a great love for me so I can’t see it going away anytime soon.

blog

  • I live to be organized. I hate surprises, I plan ahead, pack my meals, arrange my schedule…. all so I can be completely random at times and take off at a moment’s notice. A weekend trip, a new city, wandering, or whatever! I’m an extreme planner and an extreme random dreamer…. it just is what it is!

2634_59242239661_509844661_1408935_1891218_n

What’s a dating deal breaker for you?!

For you single bloggers out there, when do you divulge the blog… or do you ever?!

Comments
  1. Lisa says:

    I crack up everytime I see that picture. We wore SWEATPANTS everywhere. Classic. I had an excuse though–I felt like shit for the last half of the trip. Well, I guess we looked nicer to Martha and when we went out! 🙂 haha.

    And love the tips for men who date you.

    (PS: sure many men would love to tan your butt).

  2. Ann says:

    I’ve been married for a long time, but if I can’t be ME and feel comfortable on a date, I’m not interested….I married the guy who I am completely comfortable with! (and I love him)

  3. Liz says:

    Umm AMEN Becca! Can I just copy paste this to my blog?! Haha kidding! But seriously, I feel like the only place I’m going to meet anyone these days (and I only just became ready to date again) is the gym…and lord knows there’s no quality guys there. And in my recent experience, the ones that do seem quality STILL aren’t! What’s a girl to do??

  4. This is so humerous! I love it Becca. I feel like we are so similar. People expect me to be so cray cray off the internet but I’m not as obnoxious as I appear. At least-I think so ha.

  5. AntosDoesLife says:

    I’m with you on respecting the lifestyle. I don’t drink a lot like you and I don’t like it when people don’t respect that. It’s my choice…not yours.

    I liked this a lot!

  6. Tiff says:

    You sound like you could be picky (which is a very good thing), but not too high maintenance. A girl has needs – ain’t no shame! 😉

  7. sglgirl says:

    deal breaker – SMOKING, out of the question for dating…. friends only…

  8. Love these tips 🙂 Part of finding the right guy is him accepting you for you – crazy and all!

  9. […] back at the first of September I wrote about my non-negotiables for dating a figure competitor/hot mess/me. At the time I was just settling into my (then) new town, open to the idea of dating […]

Leave a Reply

