What Does It Mean?

Posted: September 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

This morning I went to the gym.

Really, no big shock there.

It was shoulder day and things were moving along. I was *hoping* to get 50’s up for presses by my head wasn’t there and I struggled with the 45’s. You win some, you lose some right? Sadly with shoulder press it’s allll mental for me and if I’m not 100% it’s just not going to happen.

… and it didn’t. There is always Friday. I’ll get there, I’m not too worried about it.

Oddly it was packed at my usual time. I guess it’s Monday? Need to work off the weekend or something?

I guess so. In the crowd was “the” local figure trainer.

Towards the end of my workout he approached me and asked if I competed. Random a bit, but okay, ego boost? yeah. I’ll go with that.

I opened my mouth to say my usual response “I did, but I’m retired now”… but that’s not what came out. What did come out?

…. “Yes, I’m 2 months into offseason”

What? Huh!? Offseason?

Where did THAT come from?

I have admittedly worked my way from “retired” to “semi-retired”… but am I really ready to make that jump. To 100% commit myself to mid May… I dust off the hooker heels and think about picking up a new suit?

Clearly there are a lot of factors involved, you know, finding a job being at the top of the list.

But the more I think about it, the more I sit on my butt and do nothing… the more I think I need to get on stage again.

I guess I just don’t feel like I’m “done”…. maybe I never will be done, but I’m still young… do I want that top 5? Do I just want to keep going on my goals… I dont know.

I really don’t know.

There is a lot to consider, a lot to think about and a lot of work to be done.

So while I don’t think I’ve completely jumped from semi-retired to official offseason mentality… I am training my ass off and we shall see how the cards play out.

Happy Monday!

Comments
  1. haha, I think you are wanting to compete again!!! Go for it!

  2. You’re too young to retire at anything — see where your heart takes you girl!

  3. allieksmith says:

    I think you just needed a mental break from thinking about competing! Physically you are always ready–that is my opinion!

  4. Lisa says:

    Oh Becca I am SO with you! I feel the exact same way. I do want to but I don’t want to. Where do I stand?

  5. Mental and physical breaks will provide so much benefit for you Becca. I think you are in the same place with your competing as I am with my running. I don’t know where I’ll be, if I’ll be running, but just taking it a day at a time. 🙂

  6. Sounds like your heart knows something your head doesn’t! 🙂

    And um WOW shoulder pressing 45s!!!!

  7. Ann says:

    Well…you could have said what was in your heart! But then again, it could have been nerves speaking! I once was nervous and introduced my husband as my wife! Fortunately, he’s a good sport and said, “OH, you’ve met my husband….Ann?” Folks thought it was a pet name, but it was a HUGE mistake!

Leave a Reply

