Can’t All Be Good News

Posted: September 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

When I Got back to saint John late yesterday afternoon i was greeted with some not so good news.

20110930-080342.jpg

Grey cat… Aka fat cat…. Once upon known as Lucy (…I think!!?) was put down.

She had been having some strange health issues that apparently got worse while I was away. Dad took her to the vet, but at 17 years old there was sadly nothing that could be done.

20110930-080711.jpg

I remember all the way back in the sixth grade… To convince my parents I was responsible enough I did sooo many random chores and sucking up to be able to take a kitten from my friends cats litter. I even remember rolling dads giant change jar which was the kicker.

When the kittens were old enough mom drove my brother and I down and well… You can’t just take ONE.

20110930-081055.jpg

They couldn’t have been more different… Black cat is called cranky kitty by griffin…. Fat cat? Everyone loved her… And she loved everyone.

While it really sucks it had to happen, the old lady had a long… Very comfortable life… And I think this option was the best considering her condition.

… But regardless, she will be missed around this place.

20110930-081646.jpg

Comments
  1. Holly says:

    I had a cat that looked exactly like her! She had some expensive food needs that we couldn’t afford so we had to give her away 😦 She was a sweetie pie though! Good luck with the move and new job!

  2. Awe Becca I’m so sorry to hear. I actually got my cat is the 6th grade too and they are thinking that she is getting old and a little senile. We are afraid she’ll go outside one day and get lost.

  3. Meg says:

    I’m so, so sorry! I know it’s so hard to say goodbye to a pet – they’re family, not just animals. Knowing she’s in a better place and no longer in pain is good, but still hard. Praying for you 🙂

  4. Awww – so sorry to hear that 😦

  5. Lauren says:

    I don’t comment much here but I read your blog every day–very very sorry to hear about this 😦 I’ve had some beloved pets be put down as well and even though it’s always been the right thing to do that doesn’t make it easier. Hug your Fritz a little tighter ❤

  6. Lisa says:

    =( Sorry. It’s always tough losing a pet, especially one who has been with you for so long.

  7. Oh Becca I’m so sorry. 😦 Take some comfort in knowing you gave her a wonderful long life ❤

  8. Alyse says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. That’s always a hard decision to make.

    I had a pooch that my parents got when I was 2. He stopped eating and drinking when I was 20, he was 18. We couldn’t bear to do the feeding tube thing OR to let him starve. We took it as a sign that he was ready to go. I felt like I lost my brother. Very tragic.

  9. Suzanna says:

    I have never commented before on your blog, but I wanted to say that I am so sorry about your cat. It sounds like she had a wonderful, long life. Good luck with your new job!

  10. Jess says:

    I am sorry to hear that hun. Thoughts are with you.

  11. Ann says:

    I’m sorry to hear that…thinking of you and your family.

  12. Aw so sorry to hear that Becca. Losing a pet is never easy – even when it’s in their best interest. ((Hugs))

  13. sglgirl says:

    sorry to hear that becca…..one of my previous cats that i had was nicknamed fat cat too…. her real name was natcha.

  14. Dotsie says:

    😦 oh no, I’m so sorry, Becca. This time last year I lost my baby cat, and had had him since 3rd grade. I did the same as you, chores to prove I was responsible enough to have a cat. I bawled my eyes out for days when he passed. I hope you’re ok!

  15. Sorry to hear about your kitty. She was beautiful. 😦

Leave a Reply

