Snapshots… and a Shocking Confession

Posted: October 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s been a complete whirlwind few days… I’m now back in the hometown, working Wednesday, taking first aid courses and off for Thanksgiving.

I feel so scatterbrained and all over the place. It’s a bit overwhelming everything I need to do/figure out/blah blah blah work and moving related, but I know it will all work out… it always does right?

So alas… I give you some random, not connected in any way snapshots of my life the past week. Maybe then you’ll understand why I feel so crazy.

a-public-service-message-from-vegetables

…. You have no idea how excited I was to get home and eat a giant bowl of broccoli slaw last night. While I didn’t eat any crap while I was away… There was no hot food going into my body, a lot of natural selections sliced meats, apples, yogurt, protein powder, rice cakes. Lame.

ring 024

 

ring 026

 

sept 002

 

… I will clarify and say that yes, I love all Javamoose coffee… but no, I wouldn’t get excited to see this as the flavor of the day again. It was good… but I’m more of a sweet/chocolate fan than a pumpkin spice fan. Just sayin’

ring 017

A little something something brought back from my mom when they were in the states. Yum. Yum. Yum.

ring 034

 

ring 029

ring 031

 

ring 019

 

ring 033

 

ring 040

ring 041

                     ring 042 

In my driving all over Moncton I kept seeing this little cupcake shop called the CakeBox… Finally yesterday I was on my way to the highway to head home and I knew I was coming closer to it. Without even thinking I switched lanes and pulled in. I ordered the peanut butter cupcake… a plain chocolate cupcake with peanut butter frosting.

And now… the shocking confession you’ve all been waiting for.

… I just don’t like cupcakes.

Legit people.

Did I devour the frosting and peanut butter cup up top? … You bet

Did I have a few small bites of the cupcake and toss it aside? … You bet

It just didn’t do it for me at all. It wasn’t super dry… nor was it super moist. It was heavy and just kind of… seriously lacking flavor.

And this is the reaction I have almost every time I have a cupcake. Maybe I’m just not having the right ones… but really? Meh. Total Meh.

Give me a gooey, chewy cookie slathered in frosting and I’m happy.

… can I make giant cupcake shaped cookies and just gob on frosting?

Maybe I should try that…. hmmmm.

How do you feel about cupcakes?! Love them? Hate them?!

If anyone wants to suggest a great cupcake shop to try hit me up… I’m always open for trying again!

Comments
  1. haha that pic of the carrot is hysterical!
    I think I more like the way cupcakes LOOK than I do taste. Cupcakes are just so cute and cheerful! I’m with you though – cookies for the win!

  2. Allie says:

    Do you enjoy cake? I wonder! Cause cake and cupcakes are a lot alike haha hmmmm idk! Cookies are the bomb though and so is cookie dough!

  3. Alyse says:

    I hate cupcakes. I also hate cake. There, I said it. I’d rather have nuts for dessert.

  4. Meg says:

    I’m actually not a huge fan of cake or cupcakes- I just think they’re pretty 😉 So with you on this. I’d rather eat something dough-y and gooey. Haha. Peanut butter cups, though? Yes ma’am!

    Enjoy your day!

  5. Jess says:

    I am not really a huge fun of cupcakes, either. I mean I’ll eat them from time to time, but I am much more of a cookie girl.

  6. Kerryne says:

    Anything loaded with sugar and covered in frosting is great in my book, but I have a MAJOR sweet tooth. Like MAJOR. Have you seen any of these recipes for Chocolate Chip cookie pies? I am seriously with you on the cookie thing. During my prep that is almost all I have really craved is a warm thick gooey cookie… Mmmmmmmm

  7. Heather says:

    I actually am not a huge fan of cupcake either! When people are SO crazy about them, I just don’t get it. I like cake, but a big brownie or soft cookie wins in my book as well. And the frosting is always the best part!

  8. Ann says:

    You had quite the week. I love cupcakes, but I want GOOD cupcakes…which is why I usually make them myself!

Leave a Reply

