Thanksgiving Sunday

Posted: October 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

This year I had a lot to be thankful for.

Until the end of July this year, I was alone for all holidays except Christmas. I would always call home and hear that “everyone” was over for dinner and it was a great time…. and then I’d hang up and call for my traditional holiday take out and sit home alone and be a bum.

… Except for two years ago when I decided to make thanksgiving for Fritz and I.

turkey FYI: A 16 lb turkey lasts a girl… and her cat… a very long time.

So this year I was very thankful… and excited to finally spend a full up holiday with the family.

While my phone went wacko (…again) right before dinner I was able to snap the important stuff… you know, proof that I did in fact not kill myself baking a pie.

oct 014

As you can see from the photo I was heading to my brother’s place for dinner in my eating clothes… WunderUnders and a baggy top. Cheat meal here I come.

Turkey, potatos, stuffing, veggies… nom nom nom. I’m actually a little surprised I didn’t stuff myself…. okay, I probably had 2-3X a “serving” of turkey and some extra stuffing, but the real cheat of the meal was clearly the pie.

Apple pie is “traditional” right?

Well newsflash, even with half a block of butter and all that sugar, fruit in a pie? Yeah, that’s not a cheat. It’s fruit for crying out loud!

I am a sugar fiend. Hello, cookies and frosting…. Often times I combine that into a giant birthday cake. I have no shame, i like junk. That’s pretty much a huge requirement for a former fat kid right?

So I turned that traditional apple pie into what I took to calling a caramel apple pie. Basically your plain old apple pie… with chocolate and caramel baked in. Served with caramel icecream. Helllllllllllllo sugar rush.

 

oct 015

In the words of my (not paid… I swear) sister in law:

I think that was the best pie I ever ate

Score one for the first time pie baker!

oct 017 

While the meal was amazing (thanks Christian and Gillian!) and the dessert was delicious… the best part was just being apart of the family again. Helping out, chatting, hanging out. Enjoy the day. No work, no bat phone (aka my work phone), no nothing that wasn’t needed.

The day ended up with a bonfire at the house.

Marshmallows for Griffin … untoasted. Not even put on a stick. The kid is easy. Love it. Open mouth, insert sugar. Clearly related to me, adult beverages for the adults, a visit from the neighbor and just relaxing.

Perfection.

oct 018 

Oh… and there was a giant 5-1 WIN for the Habs too… Hello, Welcome to hockey season folks!

Sorry to spoil your home opener Winnipeg, but hockey is for Montrealer’s!

Happy Thanksgiving to you Canadians out there!

… And happy Columbus day to you American folk!

Comments
  1. Happy Thanksgiving girl!

    It’s my fave holiday of all time…food, food, and more food. I cannot wait til us Americans have ours.

  2. Nice job on the pie! I’m so happy it turned out great!!!

    Happy Thanksgiving!!!

  3. Rachel says:

    That pie looks amazing!

  4. D. says:

    First time commenter, long time lurker. This post really struck a chord with me, as I’m sitting here in the Halifax airport writing a post on my blog about how much I miss home (NL). I envy you for following your heart back to the Maritimes – I have been living in Ottawa for 8 years and as I’ve gotten older I’ve really started to miss my family.

  5. ohhhh my goodness! that pie looks OUTRAGEOUS!

  6. Ann says:

    The pie looked delicious and I’m glad you had a nice Thanksgiving. You looked absolutely lovely in that picture.

  7. LOL, I would have licked thae plate… apple pie rocks my sox.

  8. Lisa says:

    Sounds like a perfect holiday. Great job on the pie!! And ps- you have no idea how much I can relate to being away from family. Keep your fingers crossed that we’ll get to move and start all over like you did soon. =)

Leave a Reply

