I Really Wanted to Hate It

Posted: October 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

… Oddly no, I’m not talking about the race. My motto became “success not death” and well, this is not a prewritten blog so I guess we all know how that turned out. More on that this afternoon, 10k gave me a long time to plan blog posts about running and I want to be sure I get it right.

But in the meantime… Friday I was at a gym teacher conference (… also more on that later. Or more specifically a great conversation I had that day) and got hungry. I had my meals but was missing a carb and was hungry. Like, big time.

Since probably a week before prep I’ve had a PB and J larabar in my purse. It got hyped up during prep and I wanted to finally try one.

race 003 

I was obsessed with PB&J egg whites all through prep for whatever reason (… I actually HATED PJ&J growing up) so this seemed perfect. But well, I was scared to open it. Why? I don’t know.

Well, Friday I finally did.

race 004

(… and no, the ew is not referring to my ghetto nails)

After opening this and seeing what it looked like I read the ingredients. DATES? There is DATES in this thing?! What was I getting myself into!?

But. It was open. And I did pay for it and hated to waste.

So I took a bite

I wanted to hate it.

Like I REALLY wanted to hate it.

I didn’t want to be the blogger who becomes obsessed with them and eats them everyday and shows 876487 photos of them…

I was a little unsure after the first bite.

So I took a second.

And a third.

… and then it was gone.

I enjoyed it.

I liked it

Whatever, there I said it…. it was a lot better than I was expecting.

Will I be running out to buy them in bulk and eating them everyday while taking 96876 photos of them?

No, the calories and fat are too high for my liking and I wasn’t LOVING it. But I did like it. Maybe someday I’ll try another flavor or buy another one, but I guess in the meantime I’ll say that while I REALLY REALLY REALLY wanted to hate Larabars… I didn’t.

Ugh. I feel like that goes against everything i believe in. Eating dates. Ew.

This is almost as bad as my Brussels sprouts thing.

Speaking of which, I have been craving them like mad

I’m weird. Get over it.

How do you feel about Larabars?

Favorite flavor?

Comments
  1. Um I also ADORE brussels sprouts. They are THE BEST vegetable EVER and anyone who disagrees can’t be my friend.

    Well. I guess that’s taking it *a little* far. But whatever.

  2. Meg says:

    Larabars are hit or miss for me, I love most of them and I think they’re an awesome snack but they don’t keep me as full as I’d like haha. I like to pop the pb one in the micro for a few seconds, holla!

  3. I have never tried a Larabar but seeing them throughout the blog world makes me curious! I think I need to just look at the flavor and not the indgredient list until after I’ve tried it because I’m pretty sure if I saw something like dates listed I would say No way! and never give it a shot.

  4. I like them and could definitely eat one as a pre-workout snack everyday, but I totally agree. Way too much cal/fat content for it to be an everyday snack for me, anyways.

  5. Holly says:

    the cherry pie lara bars are my favorite! I even made some myself! You can cut them in half and only eat 1/2 at a time, they keep well. The dates are a great source of fiber and energy and the nuts are a good source of fat, not bad! Yes, they are a little high in calories but they are an all natural food, which is better than a lot of other bars out there.

  6. Oh my. Lara Bars. While I’ve never blogged or taken photos of them, I absolutely love them. The Chocolate Coffee ones are amazing. The Chocolate Chip Brownie ones… oh oh! Or the chocolate chip cookie dough ones! I actually scarf them as part of my weekly cheat meal. I love them that much. So either they are really incredible, or my taste buds are misfiring from dieting so much. haha!

  7. I love larabars, especially the coconut cream pie, cherry pie and pj&j bars! I’m so happy you liked it! Don’t you love the little ingredients in the bar? I think that is what I love most about them!

  8. Heather says:

    how do you make pb & j egg whites?

Leave a Reply

