Be the Change

Posted: October 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

Everyone knows my giant gym pet peeve…

rack

After last night you can also add no shrugs in the squat rack.

UGH

Did my deadlifts while these…. charming young men… did shrugs in the squat rack. Over and over and over. I then needed the squat rack… you know, to do squats… so I stood back and waited… and waited… and went pee… and waited.

Getting more and more mad as these douchebags did set after set of SHRUGS of all f-ing things. Finally I asked politely when they would be done.

While I wanted to say “hey, are you almost done being douchebags… I mean doing shrugs” I refrained.

Finally I got my rack and finished my workout.

… and they moved onto dumbbell shrugs. Like really?

anyway. 185 deadlift for me! The goal is 200 by christmas!

So yeah, gym pet peeves. Often times I go to the Goodlife gym in the downtown area over the lunch time. It’s convenient for meeting my driver and work, so I go with it. Usually when the lunchtime rush is ending and people are showering/changing I’m mid workout…. which often means pee break time. So Wednesday I go in… three bathroom stalls…. all occupied with people CHANGING

Goodlife gyms have “private change areas” for this purpose, but I had to stand there waiting for almost TEN MINUTES. I knew there was a suggestion card on the wall about this, so I wrote up another one, popped it in the box and went about my day.

Today I went to that gym…. I walk into the bathroom and what’s on the door of the bathroom stalls?!

photo (9)

… the temptation I now have to write 32763287563 complaint cards to the gym is scary…. but I will avoid it. At least for a few days anyway.

So hey, who knew, if you’re annoyed, speak out. Sometimes it just may work out in your favor!

Happy Friday everyone!

Who’s got big plans!?

Comments
  1. sanleh78 says:

    Ha, I think it’s great that you complained! I totally would have done the same. And it worked!!

  2. allieksmith says:

    Wow! First of all 185lb deadlift.. I’m so jealous!!!! Also.. good job on speaking out! Yay 🙂

  3. Nice job getting your gym to post a notice! Management does listen! 🙂

    I would have annoyed too if those guys were doing shrugs when I needed to get my squats on! At least they moved once you asked so you could finish up your workout!

  4. That is awesome! I love that your gym actually listened to your complaint cards. I have written many (ahaha-I bet they know it’s me). I should switch my pen handwriting out.

  5. Dawn says:

    Looks like the next complain should be about the squat rack…maybe a suggestion that you can smack them with a dumbell of they are acting stupid 🙂

  6. Ann says:

    Congrats on the 185 lifts! You’re awesome! I used to be a customer service manager and any business worth it’s salt looks at a complaint as an opportunity to improve….so good for them!

  7. Lisa says:

    I love that they took your suggestion and did that. how awesome. That’s rare, from my perspective anyway.

Leave a Reply

