For All My Fellow Pumpkin Haters

Posted: November 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

How wonderful is it that most of the comments I got yesterday were regarding pumpkin not being all that… and a bag of chips.

Clearly I have the best and most badass readers ever. I love you all!

Life has been a little nuts this week… and to top it off I was called…. “chubby”.

Yes, a boy… on a date… called himself a “chubby chaser” for liking me.

oct 003

So I’m a size two… instead of my end of prep baggy size 0.

I’m a WHALE.

…. at least I’ve got bitchin shoes?!

Sometimes I wonder where these guys get off saying the things they do…. and why I keep dating complete morons. If I’m chubby, then you’re going to be sadly disappointed with 90% of women out there. Ever wonder why you’re single?

Newsflash, it’s you, not me.

But the GOOD news about me being so “chubby” is that I baked Monday.

Baked total AWESOMENESS.

It all started with dinner. I invited my brother and his family up to the house Tuesday night. I cooked up a mash up of meals… mostly mexican. Some lean ground beef with taco seasonings, cheese, broccoli slaw (I had no lettuce! oops!), some Annie’s mac and cheese.

halloween 025 I’m not a fan of hard taco shells, so I made a taco salad of sorts, broccoli slaw, onions, peppers, taco beef… with my mac and cheese on the side. It was awesome.

… and totally hilarious watching my nephew eat.

halloween 026

As he eats and the shell breaks he says “I’m in big trouble” with every bite. It’s hilarious.

Then of course it was time for my awesomeness baking skills to shine.

halloween 019

 

halloween 020

halloween 022

halloween 023    Random Apple Crisp: Loosely adapted from the memory of an old AllRecipes recipe

  • 3 cups large flake oats
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2-2 c butter
  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 8 (or so… ) medium apples. I used Gala, Cortland and 1 honeycrisp
  • Cinnamon (to taste)

Mix dry ingredients, cut butter into dry ingredients

Peel, core and slice apples

Layer oat mixture, apples, more oats.

Bake for 45-50 minutes at 350.

Done and done.

Top with caramel pecan fro yo and devour

halloween 027

And then proceed to laugh at your brother encouraging your nephew to try and make friends with the “bad kitty” Fritz.

halloween 024

Fritz gets very nervous when there is a lot of people around. If you don’t approach slowly he tends to hiss and swat his badass declawed paws around.

Griffin hisses back. It’s funny.

Fritz isn’t cranky, he’s just misunderstood. I swear!

Hope you all like apples instead of pumpkin!

Happy Friday! Who’s got big plans!?

Comments
  1. I love pumpkin flavor, especially in beer. But I can’t get into making everything with pumpkin. It ends up tasting weird to me. I’m glad you realized you should stop dating morons. Seriously, a guy says something like that, it’s time to stand up, excuse yourself, and get the heck out of there!

  2. Dawn says:

    Oh, I love apples! Can you come over to my place and cook for me? Srsly!!!

    WTF???? Is wrong with the guys you find? Chubby??? Really??? What a LOSER!

  3. You are gorgeous at any size – screw that guy! Can we still be friends even though I love pumpkin? 😉

  4. WHAT?! Um, you are a size 2. Most people would kill to be a size 6! I hope you told that guy that you were clearly a loser chaser if you were on a date with him. What a jerk!

    That apple crisp looks phenom!

  5. Wow what is wrong with people…he would think I was ginormous?

  6. I meant to put a ! haha. & it looks delicious!

  7. Holly says:

    Wow, does he think your chubby because of your muscular thighs??? I guess he doesn’t see the other 90% of the population like you said. He’s just a weirdo for saying that. I do like pumpkin but not enough to put it on everything.

  8. sanleh78 says:

    Chubby? You??? Has he seen your competition pictures?? You’re not far from that, so how could you be big? He might be mistaken your muscles for fat!? 😉 What a loser…

    The apple crisp look ahhhmazing btw!

  9. what? chubby. thats horrible, fuck him.

  10. Erin says:

    My jaw just dropped to the floor. What a total jerk! At least you’re smart enough to drop his sorry a$$.

  11. anonymous says:

    I can NOT believe a guy called himself a “chubby chaser” for going after you. I hope you punched him for that! Or at least walked away. What a douche.

  12. Um excuse me. What the fucking fuck. (Not just WTF)…what is he thinking. I would have responsed with well you know I’m a dumbass chaser right? Um anyways-yes your shoes are bitchin 😉

  13. Ann says:

    Your recipe looks delicious (BTW – I love pumpkin!). As for that guy calling you chubby? Please tell me you took off your amazing shoes and bonked him on the head with them?! The nerve! I’m a size SIXTEEN and my husband thinks I’m the sexiest thing walking the earth. You date and/or marry a guy like that, okay?

Leave a Reply

