Why I Do What I Do

Posted: November 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

People often question some of the things I do… I mean, sure they have good reason…. I often come across as completely out of my mind, but yeah… there is a really easy, logical and simple answer to the following questions:

Why do I compete?

capclassic 024

 Why do I eat the way I do?

oats

Why do I run races with little to no training?

Picture 011 

Why do I push myself day in, day out?

bootcamp2

The simple answer?

Because I can

Growing up I never thought any of these things would ever be possible… for someone “like me”.

I remember when I was probably six or seven years old waking up in the middle of the night having yet another asthma attack. Once again in the middle of the night I put my sneakers on and a coat over my pjs and off mom and I headed to the ER. This was almost a monthly occurrence and even then I didn’t want people to think I was a wimp.

On that one particular trip I remember taking my brand spankin’ new Barbie in the car with me. When we got to the hospital mom asked if I wanted to bring it in with us and I said no. I didn’t want the doctor to think I was a baby, I wanted to be tough and strong…. even though my health was clearly a disaster.

Eventually they were able to get my asthma under control and I wish that would have made me be more active… but no, my weight continued to climb higher and higher.

Before photo

Back then walking up a flight of stairs left me winded.

Running and sports were for “athletic people”

Even after losing 100lbs and turning my life around competing was for “the people in magazines”

Um newsflash…

Life is what you make it. Sitting on my butt doing nothing but shoveling instant potatoes and icecream in my mouth was not helping my cause. Joining my high school rowing team and just simply putting one foot in front of the other was all it took.

Move more, eat less.

Put my mind to it and do it.

Embrace that inner 6 year old asthmatic who was brave enough to go to the hospital without her Barbie and just try, push myself, don’t chicken out.

So now I do these things…. these random, off the wall, seemingly crazy things just because I can. For all those moments I missed out on as a sick, overweight kid, for all those people who can’t, for all the people who told me I couldn’t.

But most importantly for all those times I told MYSELF I couldn’t.

Educate, plan, train, follow through.

transformation

Sure I won’t always win, I won’t always be the best, I may fall down, I may crash and burn….

…. But I may succeed, I may accomplish a crazy goal, set a new PR, become a better person and more of who I want to be.

Funny how that works eh?

Comments
  1. Meg says:

    Love this. It’s so true, you can do anything, especially if you really want to. The body can do what the mind believes. Amen sista!

  2. Megan says:

    Well said Becca! We can’t do a thing to change the past but that still leaves us with the present & future. I predict some planning & training in my day today.

  3. D. says:

    So true. As someone who has also lost 100lbs, I realize that the reason I am so “hardcore” (as people call it) about going to the gym every day and not wasting my time there, running a marathon, etc. is because these are the rewards I have earned. I could have done these things 100lbs ago but it would have been probably more damaging to my body than beneficial, but now they are my reward for working so hard to make my body healthy. These are things some people dread or take for granted but until those people have been in a position where they physically can’t do those things, they can’t appreciate how gratifying it can be.

  4. Kathy says:

    Luv your blog!!! Thanks you reminded me of something with the Barbie and being strong Funny how so much of us is shaped in those early years.
    Have a great day:)

  5. Kari says:

    Love this! So true – we are capable of doing anything as long as we put our mind to it.

  6. lindsay says:

    that is the point right? To embrace the body God gave us to its full potential. Use it for strength, speed, etc. I love this post Becca. You just amaze me!

  7. This post sums up why I love your blog. That’s the spirit of why I bust my tail in the gym. I ran my first race with zero prep. Like, no cardio for a month because I was getting over pneumonia. I watched The Biggest Loser the night before and said if this guy just ran 26 miles and he’s like 400lbs, I can do 5. I did it in 50 minutes (faster than I thought I could do it). I don’t even like running, but I did it because I could. Great post Bec.

  8. LOVE THIS — and I relate SO MUCH. I was the fat kid growing up. Always. I had asthma. I wanted to be an athlete — I wanted it SO BAD. But I thought, “You can’t do that, Sable: you’re too fat / you’re too unfit / you’re too out of shape / you’re too clumsy.” (Full disclosure: the last one is still true.) And then one day I realized I had the power, the knowledge and ability to CHANGE that. So every day, every time I walk up a flight of stairs without panting….every time I shop in a normal clothing store….every time I bust out a new PR, outlift a dude, whatever — I bury that old me, that old defeated attitude, just a little deeper.

  9. This is awesome. People always ask me why I run, why I do what so and so and I just want to smack a hoe. But instead I say because it provides me with pure enjoyment. 🙂

  10. thefitwriter says:

    Love this. 😀 I read a quote the other day – it was something like “we follow life instructions given to us 10, 20, 30 (or more!) years ago by people we wouldn’t ask for street directions from today”. x

    • thefitwriter says:

      Oops – I didn’t mean to hit “post comment” – I meant to go on to say that it’s such a great feeling when we realise we no longer need to follow those ingrained “life instructions”, we are in control and yes we can do whatever we set our minds to (no matter what anyone might say or expect of us…)

  11. Tenecia says:

    Love! Love! Love! Love!

Leave a Reply

