Wisdom From the Garbage Man

Posted: November 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

I was on the road again today.

Up at 4:45 to the sound and smell of the coffee pot

march 27 002

I briefly considered my options, reset my alarm… and laid there…. Barely awake.

Alas, I got up, brushed my teeth, got dressed, grabbed my coffee and my preworkout and hit the road.

Thankfully the gym was open, I busted out a chest workout, some abs (must get better at doing this!!!) and 30 minutes of cardio.

Shower and plenty of time to walk home, drop my gym bag, pick up a real girl purse, my work stuff, lunch bag and hop on my bus to go grab the work truck.

I stopped at a super convenient Irving gas station where I’ve become a frequent customer for my large vanilla hazelnut coffee and headed towards the highway.

(note: My love for this cheap flavored gas station coffee is sad, pathetic and beyond forever)

On the access road to the highway I pass a Fero garbage truck/cleaning company. This is a company I pass frequently and for some reason I always read and notice their signs. Today there was a new one… with a message that oddly stuck with me

Life may not always be tied with a bow, but each day is still a gift

With everything that has happened in the past few months that is something I firmly believe. It hasn’t been easy, unemployment, depleted savings, moving twice, stress, blah blah blah.

What about the good? Family? Friends? A new job? New challenges?

Nothing is perfect in life, but it’s still my life and it’s pretty damn good if I do say so myself.

What are you thankful for today?

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    What a lovely post! You can find wisdom in the most unusual of places. Thank you for posting this!

  2. I am thankful for McDonalds having free coffee all week. It made my mornings much more bearable.

  3. AL says:

    If you’re up that early in the morn, what time do you go to bed? (You must be getting enough sleep, ’cause you’re photogenic and sans bags under the eyes!)

  4. AL says:

    If you’re up that early in the morning, what time do you go to bed? (You’re obviously getting enough sleep because you’re photogenic and have no bags under the eyes!)

Leave a Reply

