Shift in Training Focus

Posted: November 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

Soooooooo. Some things have become pretty clear after seeing some stuff on facebook and talking to people in regards to the last big show of the season out here in the Maritimes on the weekend.

Some things I’m not sure I want to compete against. It’s a five letter word and I’m not talking carbs.

Drugs.

halloween 043

Lame. Big time lame.

I’m really enjoying my training right now and have been researching some different types of training and ideas I’ve got floating through my head. Thanks to the amazing Sable who listened to my rant and whines I think I know what direction I’m going to focus on…. but more research (and mental toughness) is needed.

So for the time from now until January I’m shifting my focus… and kind of excited about it.

My 200lb deadlift by Christmas goal should be a good indication of where I’m heading here.

Talking to Sable should be clue number two.

So it’s time I say goodbye to certain things…

halloween 034 

… and embrace my inner tough girl.

That’s right folks, I’m leaning towards powerlifting training.

Here goes nothing.

Comments
  1. allieksmith says:

    When you mentioned Sable I was like “I wonder if she told Becca that she should do powerlifting?!” Lol ! Wooo! I think this will be an awesome new challenge for you!

  2. Powerlifting is SO FREAKING AWESOME. Plus women lifting super heavy weight are dead sexy.

  3. How exciting!!! I can’t wait to hear more about your new journey!

  4. You’re always challenging yourself! 🙂

  5. tiffany says:

    I did powerlifting comps a couple years ago, and it was some of the best training I’ve ever done! Besides the muscle you gain, it lifts your ass like nothing else! Bless the deadlift! Good luck, you’re gonna love it.

  6. That’s freakin awesome Becca!!!!! Great decision 😀

  7. That sounds very intriguing. I have just started “really” lifting myself and so far I really like it. I’m still a weakling though, so power lifting is probably not in my future. But for you, sometimes it’s a good idea to try different things. And yeah, say no to drugs! 😉

  8. Claire says:

    Power-lifting is great fun! It gets addictive and you’ll see some real changes in your body. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

  9. Ann says:

    Wow – power lifting? Good for you to find a positive focus and stay away from the bad stuff….

  10. That’s awesome! I love powerlifting!

Leave a Reply

