Following My Heart

Posted: November 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’ve been up and down for weeks. I wanted to compete. I wanted to powerlift. I wanted to find out wtf I wanted to do with myself.

The biggest thing weighing on my mind?

classcedit2

As of October I was… totally on my own.

Being unemployed for a couple of months, the move, bills… well, renewing my time with Joe was unfortunately not possible. Offseason was never the same with Joe anyway, much more relaxed and really just a checkin to be sure I didn’t gain 70 lbs and shave my head out of some random act of carb induced crazy.

So when my time was up I was nervous, but comfortable that I could handle it… and you know what, I think I handled it really well.

Despite my crazy back and forth indecision I felt really good about me and where I was offseason wise.

I recently contacted a semi-local team to get info on joining and starting prep. Needless to say, rubbed totally the wrong way, was turned off the whole “scene” and looked into powerlifting.

Also a meh experience.

Now what? Just keep the status quo and enjoy my workouts, work my butt off and see what next year brings?

Hello people, that’s boring… and so not me.

I needed something, anything. A challenge. Not a race, not another DL pr.

It was plain and simple what I needed.

july 9 008

After I mentioned my sour experience with the team locally I got talking to a friend who mentioned someone else with a very small, very natural (BONUS) team.

A few facebook messages, a lot of thinking, and one long phone call and…

I am officially a Blueprint Athletics Athlete

I really love the training principles, the small team environment and the different (to me) diet. Having a semi local coach, not being alone backstage, and just having that in person feedback is something i feel I want and need this time around.

My time with Joe was amazing, I loved everything about. Joe changed me from a severely unhappy, overweight miserable person to a figure competitor. He believed in me when I didn’t believe in me… and when I finally did have faith that I could do this, he was there to push me and drive me forward.

It was two years of my life that had so many ups and downs. In the gym, personally, work related and um… you know, the whole move thing. The one constant (other than family and Fritz) was my emails with Joe. I have never felt better about my eating habits and my strength in avoiding my old disordered eating patterns.

But all good things must come to an end. Maybe one day I’ll return to Team K… but for now, I am a Blueprint Athlete… and I am getting back on stage.

capclassic 071

April 21st… Atlantics.

Monday morning… it all begins.

I’m following my heart and doing what I love. Time to push myself, make the changes, embrace a new prep style and…. kill it!

Now someone please hand me a beer, a burger and pile on the sweet potato fries. Becca’s dieting through the holidays… If you think you can handle the crazy of THAT insanity, stick around. I’ve got lots to ramble about now.

…. like how the scale is going away. For realz.

Lets be honest… is anyone really shocked by this?!

Comments
  1. Awesome! Looking forward to following you through contest prep!!

  2. GLRobichaud says:

    Congrat Becca! I agree, having a goal make thing much more easier. Last winter, I set myself a goal, which was to drop 20lbs. Keep in mind thou that I wasn’t really overweight but, being in front of computer all day, that weight went all in the wrong place, lol. Having a goal back then, helped me a lots. Since I lost those pound, I’m still undecided were I want to go from here. Build up or continue to lean and push my cardio as high as I can. I don’t know.

    Reading from where you came from to what you have achieved is more than a lots of us could imagine… and pushing it even further is an inspiration for many.

    Keep it up!

  3. Ann says:

    Congratulations – no I’m not shocked! I figured you’d be competing one way or another….Best of luck and I look forward to hearing all about it!

  4. AH NO WAY your show is the day before my meet?! LOL what are the odds.

    Not too surprised 😉 but super happy for you!!! Yaaaaaaay 🙂

  5. Awesome! Can’t wait to follow you through prep!!!! I love it 🙂

  6. Congrats! I just found your blog a few days ago and read through a bunch of old posts. I’m excited to follow your prep for this! Good job on following your heart!

  7. Tenecia says:

    Not shocked just super excited for you 🙂

    T.

  8. Janessa W says:

    Love your blog! Good luck with prep! I just started a blog that will follow me in my 1st compeition. Feel free to check it out! http://frecklefacefitness.blogspot.com/

  9. Dotsie says:

    🙂

    Awesome!!

  10. SO excited for you and lookign forward to keeping up with you on your new journey! go becca!

  11. Kari Keenan says:

    So exciting! I’ll be following your journey!

Leave a Reply

