Changing My Prep Diet Views

Posted: November 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

Way back in July I was nine days out from my show. It seems so very very long ago, but in reality yeah no. Not that long ago.

Nine days out from that show I wrote a post about why I love macros when it comes to prep dieting.

picture 2

My first “prep style” diet (before I was ready to commit to the stage) was with macros… and a very limited “acceptable food list”. I ate more chicken and green beans in this time frame than I ever want to publically admit.

… and I’m talking frozen green beans. Nasty. Like seriously nasty. Never again.

After this “prep” I rebounded… and hard. I ended that diet scrawny, exhausted and burnt out. I proceeded to be “normal” and eat everything I could get my hands on. It wasn’t pretty. I was sucked back into binging hardcore, I would be “perfect” for days then suddenly I was in the midst of a binge with no recollection of how it even began.

That summer was when I found ATP training and started weekly bootcamps. They were hard, they were painful, but I love every second.

sandbag

Since back in those days when I had the “real 9-5” lifestyle I had a little thing called health insurance. I got a referral from a doc and began working with a naturopath/nutritionist… this was a set diet, with the intent to gain mass, and you know… sort myself out.

Um yeah… I was miserable. When I said I HATE fish… there would be more fish next plan… when I said I didn’t understand all the butter (yes… BUTTER)… I was told it was “right for my body” and eat up as planned.

I gained ten pounds… in one month. I stuck it out for another 3-4 weeks after being told to trust the process. Yeah, the process sucked.

Enter Joe.

Two years of macros, no “bad foods”, openly admitting my love for chocolate cheerios, greek yogurt and egg whites with peanut butter and sf jam.

lala 014

In two years there was no binging, no restricting, no over exercising and craziness.

Simply put, I lived life like a normal person. While my last prep I was more strict and chose to not eat out and eat more whole/nature foods, I was still for all intensive purposes… free and clear to eat how I want.

This time around my diet is different. I have chosen to go with a team that has a set meal plan. Yes, they fully worked with my normal foods (hello eggs and oats) but there is a plan. And I fully intend to follow it.

I’ve always said I would never diet where I had to give up food groups and things I love. But like all things in life, opinions, thoughts and decisions change. With my diet this time around I am not having dairy. For the most part I will be giving up whey. As of right now there is no peanut butter, there is no whole eggs, no greek yogurt.

lala 009 

At first… admittedly panic set in. I wanted to change things, to fix things, to be my usual OCD self. 

… but then I slept on it and woke up with a completely different attitude. I haven’t blah blah blah’d about my goals for this show yet, but a general outlook is leaner, tighter and well… better. All I ever really want every time I step on stage is to have improved from the last time. For two years macros and eating whatever I wanted worked for me, but when it comes down to it, I feel like I need the structure, the change, the small details that can and probably will make a difference in the overall package I’m going to bring to the stage.

Mentally I feel so much different in relation to the past disordered eating. I know it’s still lurking somewhere in my head, but the thoughts don’t consume me. Hell, for all intensive purposes I feel like I “beat” it, as much as you really can beat something like that. I feel like I’m at the point in my life that I can let there be this “restrictive” diet without it sending me in a downward spiral.

With that being said, I think you all know I am a huge over-sharer on this blog so if there is a struggle… if there is any question on my sanity it will be spalshed all over here and I will choose to work with prep changes if need be.

But for now, I’m trusting the process, enjoying my meals and ready to tackle the next 20 weeks… and five days… with everything I’ve got.

Comments
  1. Kathleen says:

    Good luck!! I tried exactly what you are now doing this past July through October after a year and 4 shows with Joe. I was utterly miserable and it did not work at all for me. I knew that there was nothing wrong with the added variety — my head fought the approach the entire time. I know though that some people need to be told what to eat and strive under that approach. My take away was that I wasn’t one of them. I’m rooting for you. I think it’s worthwhile to try out different coaches and philosophy bc we need different ways at different times of our lives

  2. esmemerrie says:

    I’m so grateful for your honesty! And great job on your attitude adjustment 🙂 Continue to depend on the support of your team and the entire blog world to keep your mindset away from any disordered thoughts!

  3. Holly says:

    Go Becca!! You’re gonna do AMAZING! Your head is in such a good place (at the moment) and that will take you far!

  4. Tara says:

    Wow, I give you a lot of credit for jumping into this new plan despite the fear. I don’t know that I could have done that, but I think it’s all going to work out for you. Especially since you still have coffee. Coffee cures everything.

  5. Donloree says:

    Can’t wait to see you take this prep by storm!! The change sounds like where you were at and I will be following along! 😀

  6. ausaryn says:

    I think you will be very happy/surprised by the difference no dairy will make to your fat loss and aesthetically. Not that you don’t already have nice skin and hair but in my experience your complexion gets better.

    Excited to follow along on another prep! Love your blog. 🙂

  7. Jess says:

    Do you base your daily intake on net calories or does your current plan account for those you burn from working out? What do you think about “eating back” exercise calories if your calorie goal does not account for working out?

  8. allieksmith says:

    Love your determination, Becca! You have the right attitude and mindset 🙂

  9. arelis says:

    can you provide a sample of your meals?

  10. A L says:

    I’m on a strict diet too… thank goodness for cheat meals!

  11. I totally tuck my phone into my sports bra as well when I’m listening to music at the gym!

    Strict diets are not always fun, but with your determination and dedication I’m sure these next 20 weeks and 5 days will go by quickly for you!

  12. You can do it, and just listen to your body if things start feeling wrong! BTW chocolate cheerios are amazing…or anything chocolate for that matter 🙂

  13. […] November 28th I started prep with Blueprint at 20 weeks and five days out. I completely changed everything about how I looked at dieting and competing and decided to trust my coach and the process and give […]

Leave a Reply

