Prep Day Two

Posted: November 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

Yesterday was not a perfect day prep wise. All my food was 100% on, it was just the timing that was off due to well… having no food in my fridge except eggs and mustard when I woke up yesterday and needing to get groceries/meal prep etc etc.

Today I slept in a bit. Hello, it’s my weekend after all. But this made me feel like my morning meals were  a bit rushed. I’m eating every two hours (EEK!) so it was tough to figure out how to get my meals in semi-on time while getting to the gym and all that blah blah blah.

I do count it as a success though, my meals are super simple and require little prep which is really convenient considering my current living situation.

My workouts are 4 days on, one day off…. with NO CARDIO on leg day.

Score!

After two days of the workouts I’m sore, but not dead. I’ve definitely found myself pushing a bit harder, especially since I will be showing someone my workout logs now. Eek. A little scary but a nice extra push!

While I was at the gym training this morning the Goodlife truck was out front and they were unloading a bunch of stuff. I was really curious about this big pile of randomly big blanket wrapped pieces in the weight room.

prep 001

I observed the progress as my workout went on… and was almost ready to jump up and down when the pieces came together to make a second squat rack! … then I noticed the busted stepmill was back… with TWO new ones!

OMG it’s like Christmas! New free weights, squat rack, kettlebells, boxes, everything…. then I did my cardio and headed over to stretch to see this.

prep 003

Why do I get the sneaking feeling you need to hire a generic goodlife trainer to have access to all the shiny new stuff? LAME.

In other news, LOVING the cardio change. Last prep I did 40 minutes low intensity steady state every morning (6 days a week). While it wasn’t awful, I’m loving only 20 minutes post workout. It’s all out high intensity, but I get to indulge in my ADD cardio tendencies and jump from machines. It’s easier to “trick” myself into working hard when it’s 5 minutes here and 5 minutes there.

Both my sessions so far have left me drenched and gross…. with black streaks all down my face.

prep 002

 

True story. I can’t leave my house to do ANYTHING without mascara on. It’s my security blanket even if I sweat half of it off everyday at the gym. I’m okay with it if it makes me feel presentable to the general public.

So there you have it. Two days in the books. The real test will come tomorrow when I’m in the gym and Thursday when I’m on the road for meetings and a night in Sussex. Scary, but I’ve got this!

Comments
  1. allieksmith says:

    Good job on Day #2 Becca! I know you can deal with a busy schedule and getting your meals on time and working out 🙂 !

  2. chouka777 says:

    Why don’t you use waterproof mascara?

    Goodies… all the new stuff in your gym. I’m jealous!!!

  3. Your mascara looks so much less ‘fake’ than mine. I always feel like EVERYONE can tell when I wear mascara but yours looks pretty and natural!!

    Hope you can use the shiny new stuff!!!!!!!! It irks me when gyms do crap like that 😡 If I pay for my membership I should be able to use whatever part of the gym I want. Sheesh.

  4. Meg says:

    Something about being absolutely disgustingly drenched after a workout makes me feel like a badass, haha. Get it girl 🙂

  5. Lauren says:

    I am the SAME way about mascara..I do a lot of half marathons and have never done one without make up on. I just don’t feel prepared or even awake without it haha. And if I had eyelashes like yours I would probably never take my mascara off!

Leave a Reply

