Why Wait?

Posted: December 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s that wonderful time of year again.

christmas 017

The gym is often oddly empty…. or at least the weight room is.

It seems cardio equipment is all in use while people “counteract” the holiday parties and booze-y nights out.

Um yeah. It doesn’t balance out. But whatever right?

In a few short weeks the gym will be the total opposite. Wall to wall people, the “resolutioners” as I like to call them. Often not lasting more than a few weeks they are all gung-ho in January with shiny new membership cards and their fancy outfits from under the Christmas tree.

nov11 022

I’m clearly not the fancy workout clothing type. If my shirt doesn’t have a stain on it and mascara isn’t running down my face it’s a good day. And I wish I could say I was exaggerating, but we all know I’m not.

But I digress.

Something I’m seeing in a lot of blogs, all over facebook and twitter is a general trend of “once January 1st comes it is so on!”

And no, I’m not talking about prep. I understand what I’m doing is different, this is real life people. You’ve been talking about goals and plans and losing that belly for months, but now you’re saying you’re going to wait until January 1st to start?

Um…. Why wait people?!

I’m a firm believer that real life and being healthy should be about gradual changes and a general lifestyle change, NOT a diet or the next big fad.

What happens when January 1st rolls around?

You break out the shiny new calendar, mark off the workouts, plan your “perfect” meals, count your calories and become automatic (but resentful) bff’s with the treadmill.

febcal

Umm… I hate to be the one to say it but seriously, how long is that going to last?

Why not start now? Why not wake up tomorrow and have a balanced breakfast, pack your lunch and some healthy snacks. Go home from work and cook an easy healthy dinner with the family.

And what about the day after when you have a work potluck and are faced with all that “evil temptation”? Look what’s available, make some good choices and take smaller portions of what you want. If there are some badass looking homemade cookies (….with frosting) you just have to have, well have one! Hell, have two if you really want.

cookies 009

… but don’t eat six.

… and don’t go home with a defeated “well I had cookies so the day is ruined, might as well have a large pizza for dinner”

aug 23 076

Newflash, you’re not one day or one week or a month away from “starting over”, you’re only a few hours from starting over. Your next meal you can change the whole day. Going home and eating that pizza will only make you feel worse. Did you really want that pizza or did you have it just because you already had the cookies. I bet you’re going to wake up feeling bloated and gross, but if you had stopped at the cookies you’d wake up feeling perfectly fine.

So I throw this out, why wait until tomorrow or January 1st or until things are better to start your new lifestyle?

I used to have the exact same mentality and now I kick myself for not starting sooner, for blowing whole days on junk food and binge eating thinking I’d wait until Monday to start over.

Normally knowing I am “allowed” to be relaxed for Christmas dinner in the past would have scared the &^$% out of me. Anticipation, overthinking…. completely blowing that one meal out of the water and eating everything in sight.

turkey This year… I feel oddly relaxed by it. Maybe this really is a lifestyle for me?

Um, true story, while I’m excited to not weigh out my sweet potatoes (plain, none of that casserole stuff for this Canadian) and turkey, have a bit of stuffing (omg yum), maybe a homemade roll and some dessert… What am I really looking forward to?

Zucchini.

And brussels sprouts.

july 2 I miss eating a ton (and huge variety) of veggies.

I do not however miss the epic bloating i got from those veggies. There is nothing sexy about looking 6 months preggo.

… not that guys are beating down my door anyway, but you know!

So why turn Christmas and the holidays into a giant free for all and “start over” in January 5 or 10 lbs heavier than you were on December 1st? Enjoy the treats, enjoy your life, but find a balance. Hit the gym, make good choices and when you’re not splurging, eating your normal healthy meals.

What have you got to lose?

… Other than the ability to fit into your fat jeans in a few weeks?

Comments
  1. Michelle says:

    I SO agree! Why wait? I am switching gyms at the end of the month and I DREAD the fact that I will be a “new joiner” at such a cliche time.

  2. Julie says:

    This is such a great kick in the pants! Last week I made a month long committment to myself to exercise, so that I would go into the new year already with a routine.

  3. Lisa says:

    Oh i just dread the gym at the beginning of January. Drives me insane. And now you totally have me craving homemade bbq chicken pizza. ugh! =)

  4. AntosDoesLife says:

    I concur. Although I have been off of my exercise wagon for the past few weeks, I started Friday with my new plan and stuck to it (with the exception of today). I don’t understand people who wait either, there’s not point and no reason as to why you can’t start now!

    Merry Christmas to you!

Leave a Reply

