Starting Points

Posted: December 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’m going to start this out right here and now by saying one word of warning.

I.Am.Hungry.

I don’t know what it is today but I’m hungry. Random, I’ve been doing really good and haven’t had much hunger at all… but today? Yeah, today is one of those days. Oh well.

I blame cardio.

(yes, I always have and always will blame cardio for any and all of my problems)

I haven’t really talked much about the whole prep process. I actually got a comment asking me what “prep” actually is. Well for me and my competing I have two “seasons”:

Offseason: Build/maintain, cut back on cardio, eat more, cheat meals, no show date in the calender. Often the most important part of competing as you make most of your gains here. I suck at offseason. It’s a mental battle and I admittedly struggle with balance and the added weight.

Prep: The love of my life. A little extreme yes, but I love being in prep, having a show date… which gives everything a “set” purpose if that makes sense. Everything that I eat/drink is weighed/measured, progress photos are abundant and everything from workouts to cardio to sleep is taken into account as I work towards a show date.

… That’s the basic rundown anyway.

Like I’ve already mentioned I switched coaches this year and am working with a local team. It’s a lot different than my previous prep style as my meals are set by my coach, my workouts are given to me and well, I’m even doing less cardio (always a bonus in my books).

At first I was nervous about the changes, hello, I’m a giant control freak but… Like I mentioned in my big announcement I want a much different result so much different decisions had to be made.

Now that I’m back in prep that means one fantastic thing… new smudged makeup/bedhead ridden/hot mess progress photos. The angle is a bit different as my location is obviously different now and I don’t have my "usual setup” like I did in Montreal, but it gets it done.

I was nervous to take these. I FEEL like I’ve made good changes in the offseason, while things weren’t always easy with the whole moving 1000 miles away, living with the parentals and you know… being an unemployed hobo, I was worried once the pictures were taken I’d see nothing. I would look exactly the same as I did last January when I began prep and well, mentally UGH. You know how it is. We are always the most critical of ourselves right?

So alas… the side view. Not bad. No huge changes, but I wasn’t expecting anything earth shattering. Maybe a little bit of a different shape to the stomach/back a bit but nothing that really stuck out.

jan11-dec11

Then I did the front view. The one I was expecting to be pretty much the same. Muffin top, big hips, chubby legs, etc, etc. But I cropped them and slapped them into a photoshop window to do the side by side and…. I was oddly pleased.

 jan11-dec11front

While it’s not a HUGE noticeable change, I see changes (… and I don’t just mean the jumbo bruises on my shins). My legs stayed leaner, my back looks a bit wider and my lower back/hips aren’t as out of control as I was expecting.

So all in all, I’m happy. There is nowhere to go but up (… or down in body fat, but you know what I mean) from here and I’m excited to see the changes. It feels different this year laying my big goal out there in the open but I’m okay with it. You know what they say right, the scariest things in life are often the ones most worth doing.

What is your big goal for the new year? Shows? Races? Spill it!

Comments
  1. Jen says:

    Completely uneducated opinion here but in both shots I think you look much better in the December 11 picture… Leaner almost… I don’t know – the difference isn’t huge but the Dec shots are pretty awesome!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    You look great!! Every little bit of progress is worth documenting for sure! I love reading your blog because it’s so inspiring 🙂 My big goals for the new year started December 1st and my plan is to train hard, lift heavy and eat healthy and eventually compete as well…I’m calling this my “prep year” haha!

  3. I cannot believe that was a year ago! Wow does blogging make time fly? I can def tell you aren’t starting in the same spot you were. You look awesome Becca and I can’t wait to see how this year goes for you.

    My goal is to keep running and keep lifting just PR in some road races. 🙂

  4. Ann says:

    You look great! I could definitely see a difference! I’m glad you’re enjoying prep!

  5. thefitwriter says:

    I see definite differences/improvements, particularly in your quads. Keep at it on this hungry day! Tomorrow will be a new day, just get through this one 🙂

  6. Your legs are freaking rockin’!!!!! I see a difference in the pics!!!

  7. Agree with other people. you’ve got hot legs.

  8. Allie says:

    I’m happy that you are happy and I was totally laughing when you said you blam cardio.. For everything lol.

    My goal is probably to do this long swim to help someone I know break a world record or do a marathon. I’m not too stressed about either though 😉

  9. Donloree says:

    YAY! I love the starting points. Isn’t it interesting how the body actually does change over time when you keep at it?

    This prep is going to rock! I can’t wait to hear how it all goes for you and unfolds. Go get it. 😀

Leave a Reply

