What Is It About the Holidays….

Posted: December 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

… that makes it suddenly socially acceptable to point out a person’s single status?

lovelife

So far it’s been nothing more than an offhand comment, but I’m kind of anticipating it to ramp up as we head into the Christmas week.

It always does… usually Christmas dinner is the prime time to hear the “so when are you finally going to bring a boy home?”

Newsflash, I haven’t brought anyone home in 27 years, why start now?

I’m clearly just avoiding my first divorce…

If I wanted something drooling on me I’d get a puppy…

I spend all my free time at the gym so I can be a good wife someday…

beer

So yeah… I wrote the above post a few days before Christmas with intentions of publishing it the next day.

But I didnt. (thanks for stating the obvious Becca)

After I hit save and crawled into bed I got to thinking why these comments bother me. And honestly… it’s because being single bothers me.

Don’t get me wrong, I am happier than I’ve ever been, I couldnt have done what I did in the last year if I was in a relationship and I wouldn’t be who I am if I had been in relationships all along… but come on, I can’t even get a date.

Yes, I totally get that my life is a bit different because of prep, but that doesn’t make me a freak of nature.

crazy

I feel like I’m at a point in my life where I really don’t “need” someone to be there to “complete me” (how I hate when people feel that way), but you know it would be really nice to have someone to enhance what I’ve already got.

You know what I’m trying to say?

I knew all the stuff with moving back home would be hard. I didn’t date before leaving Montreal not because of prep, but because I was leaving. I guess I assumed after the move it would be easy, come on people, I’m a catch right?!

Yeah, mildly crazy but at least I’m drama free and take care of myself right? Sure that means I have no boobs and diet year round, but that’s me. Is there really no one who can deal with that?

… or me?

Okay, end #whitegirlproblems and #singlegirlproblems rant

Comments
  1. Ken says:

    Your definitely a catch Becca! Great rant!

  2. I hate that people think it’s okay to comment on others’ relationship statuses. I mean really? There is no good way to answer any of those questions. Gosh. It ranks right up there with the “When are you having a baby!??!?” questions. Ummmmm maybe when I’ve graduated college, have savings and a car with a whole bumper. Thanks.

    You are TOTALLY a catch. It’s always tough to find a good guy when you move around so much…the good guys aren’t easy to find to begin with, ya know? They kinda hide out and fly under the radar.

    And there are PLENTY of dudes who can put up with contest prep and general craziness. It’s just finding a *good* one. haha!

  3. smileyhowelly says:

    I could not agree with this post more…I mean, I could have wrote this. I don’t have any advice, unfortunately…but yeah, I guess we just hang in there and wait for a miracle?? lol

  4. Emilia says:

    I understand how frustrating and annoying that is, I’m so sorry! I don’t udnerstand why people think they can comment on someone’s relationship status, single or attached, at any time, let alone Christmas. Just keep on believing that you are a catch (because you obviously are) and know that you don’t need someone else to complete you, even if you do really want someone else.

    I’m glad you decided to post this rant, I’m sure plenty of people can relate. Just remember that you will find someone fabulous 🙂

  5. evafitness says:

    wow, love this post. I just found your blog through leavethemwishing.blogspot. Don’t judge me for commenting since I’m currently in a relationship but I’m 29 and a professional dancer and aerialist. I’m in something like prep year round – year round diet and exercise program and it takes up a lot of time. Plus I’m constantly moving for work, taking night gigs, holiday gigs, working side jobs. It’s 2012 (almost!) and the people who just got married out of highschool and wanted to be stay at home moms are the minority. Nothing wrong with them but they’re not the only people who exist. It took me a long time to date someone who was not a tool and who didn’t ask me when i was going to “give all this dancing stuff up and settle down”. Never dudes, never. If there’s no guys out there who want a hot fitness model, ambitious girlfriend, then wow, what do they want?! and ps. I got the “so…you’re not married yet then?” a lot when I visited home. I wanted to say “yeah, and I’m not divorced yet either. so ha”

    I’ll catch up on your other posts. Good luck finding a stud muffin. ps. my exboyfriend was a total fitness freak. He put me on a fantastic diet and we did P90X together and did fitness modeling gigs. If he wasn’t more interested in blonde girls we might have a few cute fitness babies now… fitness guys are out there. and they have great abs

Leave a Reply

