Very Thankful Thursday

Posted: January 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

To say that 2011 was a big year would be a bit of an understatement. A lot changed in my life and while it was for the better I knew it wasn’t going to be easy. I always tend to have a very “how hard can it be” attitude and just go with it.

Well, even thinking it would be hard didn’t compare to how hard it actually was.

Mentally

Physically

Emotionally

A little bit of a rollercoaster.

I thought that back in September when I got my job, moved to Moncton and finally decided to start prep that things were really taking a turn for the better. Life was going to go back to “normal” and everything would be okay. I was busy, I was happy, I was taking it one day at a time.

halloween 034

But then…. The week before Christmas my position was changed to part time. I’m not going to get into my reasons and all of that for my decisions other than financially living in Moncton working part time and looking for a second part time job… while in prep… and trying to spend time with family.

Let’s be honest. Not logical.

So back to Saint John I went.

JAN 7 002 … and so the job hunt began.

Do you have any idea how hard it is to get hired over the Christmas holidays?

income

Ugh

But alas, yesterday I got good news. I was actually offered two different jobs.

One I really want… in Moncton

One that is really decent… in Saint John

I want to say it was a hard decision, and I guess it kind of was… but really I know where my heart is and what my plan is so on Monday I start my new job… here in Saint John.

Today I am beyond thankful that not only was I able to find a new job that not only pays well, but it actually in the same building AS MY GYM. Mega bonus in my books.

But even more so I’m thankful for my family for putting up with me for a few more months. Being able to stay with the folks for a few more months means I can put some money aside for my actual job goal, pay off some bills and (finally) feel financially on top of things again instead of living in fear of money like the last few months have been.

JAN 7 003

… which apparently didn’t curb my need to double fist coffee and go to hockey games.

But hey, I am who I am.

Things are looking up, there will be an adjustment period going back to a set routine, but I’m excited and very ready for this.

Phew.

Oh… and one last thing to be thankful for.

Look what I found when I got home from the gym yesterday!

photo (12) Yes, about five minutes later they were chasing eachother through the house hissing and batting their sad little declawed paws at eachother, but this my friends is progress! Maybe Fritz will lose his “grumpy kitty” title soon!

… Totally not holding my breath on that. But hey, a girl can dream.

What are you thankful for today?

Comments
  1. sanleh78 says:

    Congrats Becca!! So happy for you 🙂 I hope you’ll love your new position. The gym in the same building is a HUGE plus! I would love that…

    I’m still waiting for my boyfriend’s and my cat to get along. It’s been been 8 months now and they still HATE each other!! Lot’s of screaming, hissing and batting (also clawless) paws at each other 😦

  2. Lisa says:

    This is great news, congratulations! I’m really excited for you. New job, new start. Yay!!

  3. runningperspective says:

    yayy girl congrats that is amazing! seriously it is so so crazy to look back and realize how far we have come sometimes and how much shit we have to go through to finally get to that light at the end of that damn tunnel!!! congrats girl<33

  4. allieksmith says:

    Woo hoo! Congrats, Becca! I am so happy that you got two job opportunities and you will now be living in a place you love AND your gym will be in the same building. LOL. 🙂

  5. Julie says:

    That’s great news about the job!! It can be so stressful while you are looking. Good Luck.

  6. I’m so glad to hear that you got the job there. I can completely relate to having a stressful year. You handled it (or least blogged about it) so positively! Here is to a great 2012!

  7. Oh yay Becca!!! I had a feeling something was up — you’ve been awful quiet about the job thing lately 🙂

    I’m so glad you’ll be able to start saving and feeling financially in control again! Financial insecurity sucks so so so much.

  8. Ann says:

    What a great post! I’m glad that things are settling down for you….and a new kitty! I can’t wait to see their mis-adventures together!

  9. Congrats on the new job! It definitely isn’t easy to find a good one these days, so that’s a big win in my books!

  10. edebock says:

    Work & gym in the same building… what an awesome bonus! Congrats on the new job!

  11. Michelle says:

    You have definitely been living a rollercoaster few weeks! I hope that you’re new job works out – and you end up loving it!!

Leave a Reply

