Becca Goes Vegetarian

Posted: January 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

Well… Sort of.

I’ve been dreading kicking the final link to my dairy habit. Whey. I love my Myofusion and knew the day would come when I finally had to say goodbye, and that day finally came when I got my new meal plan last week.

Of course being me I put it off for a few days. Partially due to the sorry state of my bank account and partially due to having no idea where to find it in Saint John (…. and I really hate ordering online)

Saturday night was a wild and crazy one for me, after doing the gym thing and going to Costco with mom and Griffin I was home alone and bored so I headed out into the bitter cold night to hit up Superstore for my groceries. Because I had nothing better to do I found myself wandering the isles like I (sadly) love to do and came across their health food isle where I noticed this on the bottom shelf.

 JAN 7 016 The macros were right, the price was very right and well…. I knew whatever I would find in a health food store here in Saint John would either taste like dust or be 100$ I grabbed it and decided to commit to the switch.

This morning I woke up and had my 8am meal… when 9am rolled around I knew it was time to suck it up. Dreading the worst I mixed it up and… compared to the thin watery ON from two days before this stuff was thick. Like scary thick. The taste? well… honestly I think expecting it to taste like dirt made it not THAT bad.

Is it delicious? No, far from it.

But is it something I gag trying to choke down? No.

So I guess it’s not the end of the world.

And like a fellow Blueprint athlete pointed out, the additional bonus of not having to mix this with maca is how awesome I will look in April. I’m okay with that.

Another thing to look forward to in April? My car not telling me this scary news when I head out to the gym in the morning.

JAN 7 017

While Friday I was wandering around town to the gym and such in capri pants and a hoodie… today I had on my heavy sweats over those capri pants and my snowboard jacket over my hoodie. Delightful. I guess winter has finally arrived in Canada?

Regardless of the cold I had a great workout today. It was chest/quads and well… my weights are still going up which is nice, but unfortunately that means ye olde wrist is aching.

badly.

… and it’s really annoying.

It’s not bad now, but I definitely feel it. I guess that’s the fun of being a stupid snowboarder?

After getting home and plopping dinner in the crockpot it was time to get started on something i haven’t had to do (majorly) in awhile.

JAN 7 018

I dug out my stash of tupperwear in the house and got to work on meal prep.

Now that there is no chopping of 20 lbs of veggies to roast every week I was done in barely over an hour.

  JAN 7 019 Sadly I need to head down to the garage to dig up a few more containers for next week, I only had enough to portion out meals until Thursday, but it’s really not a big deal. Tomorrow is my off day from the gym so I’ll just come home after work, wash out the ones from tomorrow and repack. It sure beats digging around in the garage in a deep freeze if you ask me.

It felt kind of good to get everything done and ready for the week. I’ve really missed the routine of a regular job, Monday to Friday 9-5 type stuff. I admit the 9-5 schedule is going to be tough for the gym since I don’t split my workouts and cardio anymore and the public transit in Saint John is kind of crap… but I will make it work for training (4 weeks) and then hopefully when I get my shift it’s better hours, but we shall see!

Whatever will be, will be…. and I will make it work, I always do.

The rest of the day was pretty chill. The entire fam was over for dinner. Mom did the veggies for everyone and I took care of the chicken. I have no idea why (… other than it was on mega sale) but I had the urge to crock pot chickens. So I did!

JAN 7 021

The biggest perk of staying with the parents? Making mom take out the… giblets and neck… and wash them out.

Yuck, Yuck, Yuck.

There is nothing i hate more than touching raw meat. No, it has nothing to do with germs and all that crap and everything to do with… ew.

Pretty simple after that part was done, throw on some spices (garlic/cayenne pepper/paprika/salt/pepper), stuff some apple and onion slices in the chickens and toss the rest in the bottom of the crockpot. Done and done.

Alas… it’s time to head to bed. Some of us have day jobs you know!

…. wow that feels weird to say.

I have a feeling I’m going to be very very thankfully I didn’t chop my hair off and can embrace the ponytail thing for the next few weeks!

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    You have had quite a culinary journey this week! I’m glad the powder is working out – although I’d prefer that it be delicious!

  2. Doesn’t it feel great to be almost completely done with meal prep for the entire week?!? I always love that feeling…until the next Sunday/meal prep day. 😦

  3. Glad you were able to find a protein powder that works for you and your new meal plan! Just curious what you packed for lunch since you said you don’t have to roast a bunch of vegetables any more?

  4. allieksmith says:

    I’m happy you were able to find some affordable protein powder that doesn’t taste too gross 🙂 You will look great for your show, I know it!

Leave a Reply

