Working Woman Once Again

Posted: January 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

So today it was back to the grind. Oh my oh my. What a weird feeling.

Thankfully I’m loving the ponytail so I was up, teeth brushed, final bag packed and dressed in 20 minutes easy. Love that I can shower and at night and not have to deal with me looking like a crazy lady.

They say the third Monday in January is the most depressing day of the year, well I almost wanted to agree…. until I went in my room to get dressed. I had (finally) opened up my suitcase from Moncton and brought out some work appropriate clothing Sunday afternoon, including jeans.

I haven’t worn jeans in months. Like, literally months. Well, except for my 3 size too big bf style jeans so I was not looking forward to it. I guess I can blame being half asleep and not having any coffee in me but I grabbed my favorite jeans.

photo (13) I didn’t fit into these jeans when I bought them last spring. By April (four months into prep) I finally fit into them and wore them to the end. So why I thought these would fit after only a few weeks of prep I have no idea, but I grabbed them and pulled them on.

And they buttoned. Comfortably

Hello?! WTF?!

… I’ll take it.

I was probably (totally guessing due to my aversion to the scale right now) 5-7lbs less than I am now in that photo so I guess that’s a good thing!

Since it was another bitter freaking cold day and I haven’t taken a city bus in ten years in this city mom had me drop her off at work and take the day to do my running before work. After grabbing a coffee at Javamoose and reading for 45 minutes, I stopped at city hall to get a crim check for work (… why I was nervous getting this i don’t know. A hoodlum I am not), headed east… grabbed another coffee and did the work thing from 9-5.

I wish I could say it was super exciting and I have tons of stories…. but I don’t. It’s a job. It will be better once the real training starts, but you now how the first day always is. The upside is a break every two hours… meaning my meals won’t be disrupted.

Oh the things I worry about.

Speaking of food… I made my veggie protein powder into a super thick pudding almost today. Added a few drops of peppermint extract left over from my iced peppermint mocha days and it was dare I say… good? Scary. Very scary.

Amy also asked what I’m eating now that my meal prep is super fast due to lack of veggies.

I still have veggies, in my first plan I had broccoli and cauliflower. Just to make things easier for me, I asked to only have broccoli this time around and that’s what I got.

Previously I used to eat a TON of veggies. Romaine, zucchini, peppers, onions, sprouts, spaghetti squash…

may 15 001  While this was all great and well (especially with the great farmers markets in Montreal) but it’s not in my plan. So without all that washing, chopping and roasting the time to prep is much shorter.

Now i buy the jumbo family sized bag of cut and washed broccoli from costco (you all know what I’m talking about) and either eat it raw or I roast it for maybe tem minutes. Easy and fast.

Combine that with cooking my steak and chicken in the crock pot, and heating up one pan and scrambling my eggs while that’s happening it’s awesome. I could separate eggs in my sleep so yeah, done and done.

Love it.

Who knew that the  meal plan I totally had a meltdown over a month and a half ago I love now. Go figure, I am adaptable.

Okay, I get tasty food, lots of eggs and my favorite steak and egg meal everyday. I can’t complain. I’m a happy Becca.

But now… it’s off to bed. I’m back to morning workouts tomorrow. Including cardio. I’ll be leaving the house by 5:30, gym by 6, shower by 8 and work at nine. Yay for working next door and having the car tomorrow so I can grab a coffee after the gym. I may need it.

I will say I AM excited to workout in the mornings again. I found today i was dragging by the end of the day (on my rest day) and know how much morning workouts perk me up so hopefully it’s better!

Here’s hoping it’s as easy as it was a year ago!

Comments
  1. YAY I’m glad to hear you back in the grind. I have to wake up one day at 5:30 this morning and I’m complaining.

  2. Tiffany says:

    I dont know why but I freak out any time a potential employer does a background check or drug test on me. I know I’m legit but I’m afraid my results are going to get mixed up with a hardened criminal. Yay for irrational fears!

    Jeans fitting with the button not diggin into your stomach is one of the best feelings ever!!

  3. when I read your posts, I get all happy inside. you inspire me and though I have been slacking … a lot, you remind me that everything is possible.

  4. Sounds like the first day went well 🙂 That’s awesome that you’re now loving the meal plan you weren’t happy about in the beginning! Making changes are so much easier when you like them. You’re going to be my inspiration to one day take a crack at morning workouts – if you can be out of the house at 5:30 then getting myself out of the house in time for a morning workout when I don’t have class until 11:30 is definitely do-able!

  5. Yay for buttoning the jeans you didn’t think you’d get buttoned so soon!

    As for morning workouts…I miss them, and I plan to do them more. I’ve become a major night owl, so waking up early isn’t happening these days.

    So glad you had a good third Monday of the year.;)

  6. I used to think that I had to eat every fruit and vegetable, but found myself hating certain ones, so now I just buy what I like and I pretty much have broccoli or green beans for lunch and dinner every day and that’s find with me, they are delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

