I Survived My First EARLY Morning

Posted: January 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

Yeah yeah yeah, I’ve been getting up at 6 and hitting the gym in the mornings for weeks now.

The difference? I sit around for a bit after dropping mom off to drink coffee and wake up. I get to go home after and curl up on the couch and nap, be a bum and whatever.

Today?

photo (14)

I finally got to test out my fancy new gym bag I asked for for Christmas.

Yeah, my free EAS bags have finally died on me, my Lululemon bag has coffee spilled on it and is really too small. This Under Armour one? Totally awesome. It fit everything (including a big, not tiny shower towel!) plus I had room left over for my lunch bag and it still wasn’t stuffed.

Seriously impressed.

Also note the new Tervis tumbler I got. Love that thing. It’s huge. More coffee for me.

So the alarm went off at 5:20. The coffee was already half brewed. Brushed my teeth, started the car and was ready and out the door by 5:35. Quick stop for gum and it was off to the gym.

…. where I felt like death.

I tried a preworkout supplement. I don’t usually take anything… but wanted to try this one, so I did.

Thankfully it was just a free sample so I don’t feel like i wasted my money. About halfway through my pullup sets I started to feel warm… by the time I started my seated rows my arms and chest were beat red and I was feeling foggy. It was absolutely gross.

While I’m not big on preworkout supplements, I’ve taken them in the past and never had a reaction. Today, yeah. Today was the day apparently.

I seriously felt that garbage until almost noon… when the hot feeling died and I had major chills.

Delicious.

Lesson learned. Stick to coffee.

Now I’m crashing hard, bedtime is coming up very soon, which is sad since I’ll miss the Biggest Loser… but I found it so hard sitting in front of a computer all day today so more sleep is needed.

Hopefully tomorrow is a better workout and a faster day at the office!

Comments
  1. Ugh — sorry about the pre-workout supp =( That’s too bad!! Good thing you don’t have a whole jug to use!! :-X

  2. Gah-I’m so excited it went decently. I’m also crashing hard but wanted to catch up on some blogs before bed. #bloggerproblems

  3. lovetotrain says:

    oh dear… doesn’t sound too good. im always a bit wary of supplements and all the rubbish that goes in them. stick with coffee!

  4. thisfitchick says:

    WOW that is early! ahh about the supp- I’ve never taken a pre workout supp… coffee always does it for me!

  5. Sorry to hear that pre-workout supplement didn’t work out for you, but like you said at least it was a free sample and not something you spent your money on. Sitting in front of a computer all day does make you feel more tired if you ask me. I’m dealing with that right now!

  6. Tk says:

    what brand was the pre workout supp? some of them make you feel like you’re going to have a heart attack and then you crash hard after. good times.

  7. Holly says:

    I hope you are feeling better today!

  8. A L says:

    I’ll consider myself warned…. I have a few samples in my cupboard that I haven’t used yet. Coffee is also my fave energy boost before the gym. Has been completely safe for me so far!

Leave a Reply

