Whats Scarier Than a Canadian In Shorts?

Posted: January 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

…. a pasty white Canadian in shorts in January

JAN 22 016

And what’s scarier than a pasty white Canadian in shorts in January?

…. a pasty white Canadian in shorts and hooker heels in January.

JAN 22 019

I don’t like resetting my alarm on leg days to sleep in for an extra 15-20 minutes. To me it’s just not worth it.

Hello, that would really mess with my routine…. and y’all know how i love my routines.

So on leg only days I either practice posing or I’ll spend some extra time trying to stretch. Today, I clearly chose the first route. I had yet to break out the heels other than for progress picture purposes yet so I figured it was time. Unfortunately the studio in my gym has a cushioned floor so it’s a bit of a bitch to work with, but at least it’s better than my old gym that wouldn’t let me use the studio at all.

I’ve always been a firm believer in practice, practice, practice when it comes to posing. Whether it’s in heels or just in my sneakers in the gym. The more I practice, the easier it is to feel comfortable on stage.

Holding the poses, walking in the heels, doing a bit of mental mindset competing, whatever you want to call it… there is just something in my head that shifts from “Oh I’m 12 weeks out” to “Oh.Em.Gee. I’m 12 weeks out! EEK!” the first time I put on the heels to practice. Even at 7:30 on a Friday morning before work with no makeup on and my hair a hot mess I can feel like that fun, peppy competitor is back and I get EXCITED.

I want to break out the tweezers and rhinestones and start adding to my suit, get my nails done, cut my hair, go makeup shopping…. Everything just gets a little bit more real. I was beginning to think that maybe because this is the fifth time around I wouldn’t feel that excitement, it would all just be habit, routine, any other show… but it’s not. It’s really truly not.

And that in itself is insane and a little bit crazy.

… or maybe I’m just a little bit crazy.

To answer a question on my progress post from yesterday…. I was asked about what my coach meant by “fading away”. One thing that is (very very very sadly) big with many coaches and teams out here is cardio. Lots and lots and lots of cardio. I’ve heard stories of upwards of THREE hours a day.

Ummm… I don’t even do three sessions in a five day period at this point.

What happens with tons and tons of cardio? Girls step on stage worn out, worn down and with a lot of muscle loss. Clearly not the goal. I don’t have a ton to start with, I have no intentions of losing it… or losing my legs.

JAN 22 017 Yes, I know and fully admit there is still fat that needs to go, but that doesn’t mean the muscle needs to go and it needs to go fast.

Slow and steady, 12 more weeks. I’ll get there.

Happy Friday everyone!

Comments
  1. You look AMAZING!! And I love that you’re not doing much cardio. There’s nothing like a low-cal diet coupled with crazy amounts of cardio to melt muscle away!!

  2. You look awesome and I love you and your coaches take on cardio, For you, *I personally think* it’s unnecessary to do 3 hours of cardio daily. How would you lift good god? Anyways-you look awesome and I’d do the same thing and keep my alarm at the same time too. HA. 🙂

  3. Trey Ramsey says:

    Cardio queens (both men and women) are annoying and wouldn’t know what to do if they actually had to truly train their legs. Today was leg day for me and I can barely walk.

    Great physique and love the transformation story! Keep us updated on your progress…

  4. Tenecia says:

    Thanks for answering my question! 🙂

    T.

Leave a Reply

