Dont Stop Until Youre Proud

Posted: January 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

Felt so good to be back to the routine today.

5:15 alarm, pull on my tights and throw the sweats back on, pour my coffee, start the car, brush my teeth, grab my meals and out the door.

Sweet, sweet routine!

It was a great workout, there is really just something so satisfying about finishing a set of dumbbell rows with a 60lb db and looking over to see the dude next to you doing the same thing… with 40’s. The only issue I’m finding with back lately is on cable stuff (pull downs, rows, etc) and that’s just because I’m still maintaining/getting stronger, but my weight is dropping. I’m pulling more weight than is in my behind now so it’s tricky.

severe #whitegirlproblems I know

Work wasn’t bad, except for over two hours of downtime sitting around in the kitchen doing nothing while people finished their tests/tests were marked. (FYI: Who’s the only over-achiever to score 100 on the test??? This girl!). Of course this boredom lead me to pinterest since my book was in the car and we weren’t allowed to go out to outside (except to smoke. go figure). I found this photo and of course got to thinking.

proud

While I’m not really one to prance around in my underpants… okay, that’s clearly a lie…

couch Okay, clearly off topic. Anyway!

My question for the whole “don’t stop until you’re proud” thing is… why stop then?

If I stopped when I was proud of myself I would never have competed. I would have woke up one day and said “hey! I’m in single digit sizes and under 175lbs. That’s pretty awesome! I’m proud of my hardwork… might as well call it quits while I’m ahead!”. Umm…. does anyone see where I’m going with this?

n509844661_534926_1344

Why stop pushing yourself to do things that make you proud? Why not wake up every single day and do something to make you proud of who you are, who you’ve become and who you can be?

No, it doesn’t have to be any big life changing event or challenge.

I’m proud of myself for getting up at 5:15am day in day out to get in my training before work… that’s a huge feat for someone who used to party until 5 am… and sleep until 3pm.

party

I’m proud of myself for finding a way to diet and compete… that works for me… without making me feel like a zombie. I’m proud to be able to say I’m an athlete, not a cardio queen in a bikini. I can snowboard, run a race (… not willingly), kayak or just be present in life thanks to considering my competing just another part of my lifestyle.

race 017

I’m proud of myself for having the guts to give up my career, move back East and take a job that isn’t a forever career, so I can take the time and work towards my personal goals. It’s not about the money, it’s about doing what you love.

What did you do today to make youself proud?

Comments
  1. You look gorgeous in all your pictures Becca!!

    Also… BIG high five on all the big, tough decisions you’ve been making lately. You will definitely get where you want to go!

  2. I like this post a lot. I often think debate what is enough or how far am I willing to go? And honestly-I still haven’t figured it out. You look awesome by the way,

  3. Lauren says:

    Love this post!!! Gorgeous pic too 🙂

  4. I’m so happy for you! You should be proud of yourself!

    And it’s true- I love walking away from whatever machine I’m using after a kick ass workout. It’s an accomplished feeling. Even if it’s just as simple as a workout.

  5. Julie says:

    Congrats on your test score!!!

    This post is such a great reminder to keep pushing yourself. Sometimes I get overwhelmed by how far I have to go, but I can be proud of what I did today, and tomorrow and the next day and the next day after that.

  6. I read your blog for these posts. Pure motivation.

Leave a Reply

