Competing Doesnt Mean Giving Up Everything

Posted: February 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

So I had a bit of a weird encounter this morning.

My alarm went off at 8 and I got up and made my coffee and ate my first meal in my sweats. It was really kind of nice.

photo (25)

As much as I wanted to bum around and not leave the house AT ALL I got dressed, grabbed my pre-packed bag and headed off to the gym.

When I got there it was time to eat…. yes already again. My gym has a few little table once you pass through the front desk so I plopped myself down and started to eat while flipping through the plethora of junk email I get every morning.

While I was sitting there eating I was approached by someone who works at the gym and who I see very frequently there. This person is pretty well known in the “industry” and is always super friendly. It seems like there has been a few questions about me from people in the gym.

I’m choosing to take that as a good thing. Yes, I can tell right away from seeing other people prepping at my gym that what I’m doing is much different, but hey, we all have our methods. To each their own right? It was a little interesting to hear that people were wondering what my deal is, but I’m taking that as I’m doing something right.

Regardless, we got chit chatting on competing and while he has never competed he had been training for provincials and has seen his brother compete so he gets the “sacrifices” that come with the sport. He even said it must be hard for my boyfriend if I have one. Um yeah, no.

At the time I really didn’t think much of the conversation…. but as I was getting ready for work after the workout I started thinking more about it.

Sacrifices to compete.

Not drinking

Not eating out

No staying out late

Being selfish

Those are sacrifices? Really?

I never feel like I’m giving up on a “real life” by competing.

So I don’t drink? Big deal. That doesn’t mean I’m refusing invites to go out. Sure I don’t really go out, but that’s by choice. The bar scene is not my thing, prep or offseason. Of course I still do go out if there is an occasion, I”m not going to sit home and play the woe is me card because I can’t have booze. The only thing I’m sacrificing there is a hangover…. and in my old age I’m a-ok with that.

drinking

As for eating out and family meals? This I admit I was worried about now that I live close to/with the fam. But you know what? Maybe my family and friends just rock or maybe I just don’t notice or care anymore, but this has never been hard for me.

Sunday family dinner? What do ya’ll want? I’ll make tacos! …. and then toss my steak, sweet potato and broccoli on a plate and eat with everyone. Do I feel like I’m missing out? Nope. Maybe two years ago yes, it would have bother me. But this is my choice.

I bake birthday cakes, do the Christmas cooking and help with family dinners all when I bring my own food. If we’re going to eat at the brother’s place, they let me know what they’re having and if I can’t eat it, I’ll bring my own food . No big deal. A couple of weeks ago everyone went for brunch for dad’s birthday. I went to the gym in the morning, dropped in just as they finished ordering. I grabbed myself a cup of coffee and chatted away, no one made me feel weird or crazy. It is what it is, my choice and I’m okay with it.

JAN 22 No staying out late? Yeah, that I really don’t feel like I’m giving up.

Mostly because I don’t even do that in the offseason. I’m a morning person. No big deal right?

Being selfish… well… Yes and no. Sure, I am putting myself first. If taking charge of my life and my health is selfish than so be it right? But the thing is, that doesn’t mean that if something came up that was an emergency I wouldn’t drop everything and do what needed to be done.

Life is all about choices and I made mine. If it made me miserable or I felt like it was awful I probably wouldn’t do it. If every family meal had me running to my room in tears because I wanted cookies with Griffin or all of my friends were bar stars and I couldn’t keep up without half a bottle of vodka in me then sure, I’d probably feel like I was giving up a lot.

But in real life it’s not about giving up anything, it’s about everything I’ve gained. Independence, self worth, self acceptance, pride, determination… most importantly I gained my life back. Somewhere along the way my relationship with food and my body has improved ten fold, I don’t fear calories or macros, I don’t belittle and talk negatively about myself anymore. It’s all about how far I’ve come and how far I can go.

photo (24)

If that’s sacrificing then yeah… bring it on.

Comments
  1. Sera says:

    what the heck is that breakfast?

  2. olivia says:

    Ahhh, I completely hear you! I was thinking about this the other day. We are not giving anything up, we are only gaining! Thank you for this post.

  3. Tess says:

    You go girl!!!! I completely agree……. it is not a sacrafice when it is something you love and gain knowledge, self-assurance and motivation from!

  4. I often tell people that you remind me of the “weight lifting” form of what I do. I don’t drink and eat a lot of crap and get a lot of crap for it. I don’t think we are giving up real life and I think we would be so lost in the “real world” ha! I’m glad you have such a good outlook on it. You are gaining so much more this way!

  5. love ths post and love your attitude!
    i feel the same way!!!!
    😀

  6. Tracy says:

    Is that protein pudding for breakfast?? My favorite snack is Beverly vanilla powder made into pudding with a spoon of natural pb mixed in. YUM!

    This is my very first prep and my family and co-workers seem to get it. I take my own food to everyhting too. Lots of times mine looks better then what everyone else is eating!!

    Love your blog =)

  7. Liz says:

    I totally agree with you! Last year when I started (but never finished) prep, I was going through my last semester of college. I didn’t feel like I was sacrificing anything, but there were people–the ones that I chose to stop surrounding myself with–that made it seem like I dropped off the face of the earth. Tough bananas! I agree that health and wellbeing is important…and FAR from selfish! How can you help others if you aren’t in good health yourself?

Leave a Reply

