Prep: The Meals

Posted: February 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

Yesterday at work… insane.

Today at work… at least 30 Sudoku puzzles completed.

Heaven.

I did have one guy ask me to fax my actual computer screen. If anyone know how to do that can you please let me know in case it happens again? I’m really not that good with technology… or stupid people.

Although on the bright side I had a pretty awesome chest/ab workout. Not only am I FINALLY able to do chest dips pretty much pain free with the old lady wrist of mine… not only have I broke the triple digit bench press number, I FINALLY got through my 100lbs plateau and hit 105 for 6 reps. It’s far from the 135 I used to do, but with my wrist giving me so much trouble over the last few months I will take that. 115 here i come!

As I was finishing up my workout I really wasn’t feeling the cardio. At all. But then just when I was feeling like I wanted to quit and skip cardio an older guy who I work with and is often friendly at the gym stopped me and made the comment “you just never slow down or give up do you?”

Yup, enough said. Cardio time. Less than 8 weeks to go. Eek.

Today’s Prep Question…. Asked several different ways.

What do you eat, how much do you eat, why do you eat what you eat.

That’s easy. Coffee. I live off coffee alone.

photo (20)

Yes, I fully admit when I originally began emailing with the coach about joining my current team a big question for me was “am I allowed to have coffee… and if not, that’s a deal breaker, we can just end the conversation now”. I did stop drinking ff/sf cream in my coffee and switched to unsweetened almond milk…. and cut back on splenda…. and now that jumbo pink cup is black with one splenda. I’ve been taking baby steps which is HUGE considering how I used to drink my coffee.

So… what do I eat?

Well, my meal plan just changed. From November until this week my meals consisted of protein shakes, egg whites, chicken, oats, steak, broccoli, almond/almond butter, sweet potatoes and fruit. These foods were put into my meal plan due to my likes/dislikes and how I prep my meals.

JAN 22 008

As of this week my steak and chicken was replaced with salmon and turkey, and my egg whites and fruit was cut back slightly to increase my fat content by adding back in almonds and a whole eggs.

I admit I’m a creature of habit and for me this is what works. I like to prep it, forget it and eat it. I’ve come to a point in my training where food is fuel, not a comfort or something I turn to when I have a bad day. That doesn’t mean I eat everything plain and bland and boring. I still love to taste food, I love to try different spices, ways to cook my food and mustard… oh how I love mustard. Especially with hot sauce in it. I’m weird.

feb 25 002

What don’t I eat?

Well that’s easy.

photo (22)

Wheat, dairy and starchy veggies… that’s the basics of it!

Honestly thought this would kill me…. truly doesn’t bother me in the least. I feel better, have more energy and the best part? I dont have ANY of the GI/baby belly bloating issues I had last prep. Going to bed not looking like I’m 6 months preggo is worth making the change in my books prep or not.

The big one… How Much Do I Eat?

The actual macros of my day I don’t like to give out. 1) Because I pay for someone to make my plans for me 2) Because I am me and you are you. What works for me may or may not work for you.

… but with that being said I can tell you the basics on how my most recent meal plan is created.

The general rule of thumb is a woman should consume 1-1.5g of protein per pound of lean body mass. Since we are still lifting heavy and protein is what satisfies me in terms of hunger, my protein macro works out to be 1.5g times my old show weight (which we are hoping to hit again this year… but just with a much different look). For the remainder of my macros the fat and carb grams are pretty much split 50/50.

Yes, this does mean my carb count is fairly low, but I enjoy it, feel satisfied, have a ton of energy and it’s working. That’s all that’s important to me. Feeling GOOD…. and still eating oats every night before bed. Delicious.

JAN 22 009

That’s the basics.

Anything else, just ask!

Comments
  1. Victoria says:

    My question is “how are you so badass and can I be like you when I grow up?”

  2. annie says:

    oats before bed? shouldnt they be eaten earlir in the day to be used as energy?

  3. CarliAlice says:

    crtl, alt, prnt scrn
    paste into word
    print out
    fax

    Thanks for stating that the macros is at your goal weight. I wondered about that. If you were a vegetarian, or if you know of some, would you give up the dairy?

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Thank you so much for answering those questions because ever since I’ve started reading your blog I wondered that 😀 Your progress is amazing and I am so sure you’re going to KILL it this year on stage! SO excited for you!!

  5. Lisa says:

    Work question: Print screen (top right on keyboard), open Microsoft word or whatever word processing you use, paste and there you go! Then save it, fax it, email it, whatever your heart desires =)

    This diet seems to be working like a champ for ya!! I hope one day I can get to the point where I just look at food as fuel and not love. Someday. When I grow up.

  6. Interesting! I am finding this so interesting as well. I do agree though as to why I stopped food blogging-everyone and their mom would want to know your exact calorie intake and I found it slightly obnoxious.

  7. Work question: Ctrl + Print Scrn button (up by the F buttons on the right side) then as Lisa said, paste into word processing program and you can do whatever you need to do with it – print it and fax

    Glad your diet is working for you. I definitely find it interesting to read about your lifestyle 🙂

  8. Tiff says:

    Great job gettin’ after that cardio. Good luck with the rest of prep. It sounds like you’re on the right track. Your dedication is inspiring. 😀

Leave a Reply

