The Importance of a Team

Posted: March 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

So one of the biggest questions I received about my prep was a good one, and one I wasn’t really sure how to answer until well…. Yesterday.

Do you need a team to compete?

Short/technically correct answer?

No you don’t. There is more than enough info out there in magazines, books, the interwebs, friends, etc etc that if you wanted to go that route you could plan your own diet/workouts/prep all out and have at it. There is no rule on having a team or a coach.

Long/completely Becca answer?

(…. hello, it IS my blog after all)

Yes, having a coach/team behind you is one of the best things you can invest in if you choose to compete.

For the first two years I competed I was a (loud) and proud member of Team K and working with Dr Joe was beyond words the best thing that ever happened to me at the time.

eastern 043 With Joe’s approach of no foods off limits and creating my own meal plans with his macros allowed me to stop viewing food as the enemy, there was no longer “good and bad” foods, and I learned so much about myself and how to deal with my own food issues.

I’ve already discussed…. at length… my decision to switch to a local, and much smaller, team this year. Yes, my approach has changed and personally I feel like it was 100% the right decision for me. After working with Joe I felt like i was able to make the decision to switch up my approach to dieting this year without reverting back to good old fashion crazy Becca and honestly, so far so good.

The other thing about a team? For anyone who is friends with me on Facebook you may have seen a status update yesterday from me.

Pretty sure the email I just sent should have started "dear Jody, I’d like you to finally meet the real becca. The one who is crazy and feels like a tank."

Like I mentioned yesterday… it wasn’t a great day. Mid workout I sat my ass down on a bench in the near empty weight room and started furiously sending an email off to my coach. I felt like a tank. I must have at least 20-30lbs on the other figure girls in my gym, I was tired, I was cranky, I was feeling like the fat beauty queen again and that added to the fact I legit had a dream about looking so out of place on stage in April that I wasn’t even in the LAST callout, I was just told to leave the stage left me um…. having one of “those” prep moments.

cry

So off this massive “Meet the real becca… the crazy one” email went off and by the time I got home from work I had an equally long email back from the coach.

After addressing my major concerns he turned the email around on me and really asked the million dollar question.

Why do you compete?

This is a conversation we had when I joined Blueprint back in November and one that I guess I needed to be reminded of.

Competing was never about a trophy or a pro card or anything like that for me. I started this journey to prove to myself that I could in fact “survive” the lifestyle and step on stage. Following that first prep I embraced the lifestyle and it became a way of life for me. I love how I eat, I love the plans, the training, knowing I’m pushing myself to a level most people can’t…. while being in the best shape of my life AND being healthy.

I pulled up my pictures folder and started looking through the photos from my last show and um… there are like no stage shots. Everything is backstage, around the venue just having fun. Meeting people, making friends, enjoying every second of it. I worked my ass off and I wanted to enjoy it, win/place/last place be damned.

capclassic 066 Having a coach to send that email to, to have him reply and remind me WHY I do this, why I LOVE this and if that still wasn’t enough pick up the damn phone and call or head up for a training session is worth it for me. It’s a support team, a great group of people who get it, who know my diet, know my workouts and are there to joke about turkey and national peanut butter day together.

True story: I actually sent a facebook message on my break tonight to a fellow team member which referenced me cooking a “turkey the size of a large dog”. We’re those kind of weird people.

Also, there is still a big part of me that has former fat girl syndrome. Yes, I do know what I’ve done with myself and how much work I’ve done, but there are still times when i look in the mirror and those changes are nowhere in sight. For me to have a non-biased eye to evaluate my progress, be honest about my strengths and weaknesses and reassure me when I’m having my crazy moments is one of the most valuable things.

So there you have it…. I want to reply back on the food follow up, but felt like today was the prefect day to answer this email, so I apologize for the delayed response on the rest!

How do you feel about teams? Important? Do it yourself? Thoughts?

Now if you’ll excuse me… it’s my friday night and I’ve got sleep to attend to since I have a big day tomorrow:

1: cook food for the day

2: run errands

3: gym

4: go see apartment

5: cook turkey the size of a large dog

Wish me luck

Comments
  1. Elizabeth says:

    I love the idea of a team! I think that would be a wonderful way to stay motivated and on top of your game. Right now I’m pretty much doing it on my own but I would LOVE to have a team to work with for sure. Maybe there are some in my area…I should do some research. I love your Q&A posts btw!

  2. I love the idea of a team as well. I don’t know what I would do (honestly) without my coach. Like you, I feel I can cry to him or complain and not feel pressured. I just think having a coach is the best thing I ever did for myself.

  3. Christina B. says:

    Trust me, you’re not the only one who has doubts during the prep phase. You are doing the right things right now and you will succeed!

    Keep it up!

    CB
    http://gofiguregirl.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

