So Here’s the Deal

Posted: March 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

Alternate title: The Monday I Tried to Sleep In the car… Again

Friday night I went to bed like any other Friday night. Right around 11pm, exhausted and ready to pass out. Only I crawled into bed and my eyes popped open and I laid there. For hours. Needless to say when mom woke up Saturday I handed her a fistful of change for the third Hunger Games book i downloaded to the Kindle at 3am. Insomnia is back. Bad.

This is something that comes and goes. I fully blame my mind running on full tilt, mostly with money and moving woes. You know, grown up stuff. There’s always just something. I managed to doze maybe 3-4 hours, but there was definitely no quality sleep and Saturday was tough.

Well… sort of. The morning was great. I put Turkey #2 in the oven around 6am and headed to the gym (leaving T2 in the hands of my mom) around 9 am for my workout and cardio. I was totally expecting it to suck ass with my exhaustion, but thanks to a new workout plan and being 6 weeks out I felt awesome and killed it.

I also TALKED TO SOMEONE at the gym. Well, she talked to me. But still. Maybe someday I’ll make friends haha

When I got home there was just time to shower and pull T2 out of the oven before mom and I were heading off to town with Griffin.

mar 12 002

There was a trip to the Walmart, grocery store and couch shopping on tap.

Yes, I’m shopping for a couch.

That can only mean one thing! I’m seeing one more location in 30 minutes… but I’m 99% sure I’ve chosen my future home and will be getting the keys April 1st! I told myself Friday was the day and what a day it was. Love! I’m talking bay window, big bedroom, bright living room, open kitchen, two skylights and a clawfoot tub. Oh, and it’s in a heritage building. My dream.

mar 12 003

After the errands it was well…. flat out crazy. I was alternating baking Griffin’s birthday cake with meal prep. By 11pm I was finishing up, exhausted beyond words and ready to accept defeat and simplify my birthday cake plan for one simple reason.

… if i didn’t, and my idea wasn’t 100% perfect… I would have cried and thrown the cake against the wall. I’m serious. I was THAT bad.

But… thankfully Griffin is three (HAPPY BIRTHDAY TODAY!) and the fact that A) it’s CHOCOLATE CAKE and B) ITS BATMAN really was all that matters.

mar 12 010

Why can’t kids stay young and easily impressed forever and ever and ever?!

mar 12 015

After his birthday party I took off to work. Needless to say it was a little busy seeing how there was only THREE of us working for the last two hours of my shift. Although Sundays are very quiet and chill. Much appreciated.

I got home at 10:30, ate my last meal and went right back to bed…. and was awake at 5 and dozed until 5:45 when I got up. My shift is 2:15-11:15pm today. It’s going to be a LONG one. But I can manage. I’ve got a plan. A great plan.

And my secret shame.

mar 12 001

Yeah… I swore when I moved back east I’d never give into the Uggs and yoga pant trend that is so popular here… but they are just so so comfy and cozy that I stole mom’s and have worn them for weeks. They are like slippers and awesome to slip on and off at work. Oh well. It’s supposed to be 12 degrees here today so don’t worry, I’ll be back to my ugg hating self in a few weeks I promise.

So now i’m off to see one last apartment, make my decision and hit the gym. I’m not totally ruling out an afternoon cat nap in the car before work… but until then, I have some HUGE news.

Since obviously I wasn’t partaking in any pancakes/bacon/birthday cake love at Griffin’s party I seemed to end up with a new bff.

             mar 12 013 That’s right. Mom had to get up to help Griffin with something and without even realizing it I found myself saying to give me Stella and next thing I knew I was holding a baby (6 months old is still a baby right?!) for the FIRST TIME EVER.

We chilled out and enjoyed being cake free buddies for a bit. I must have been really sleep deprived or something. But it really wasn’t as scary as I thought. And I totally didn’t drop her. Or make her cry.

She did drool on me though. But really, that’s a nice change from drooling on myself or something. That’s what I’m telling myself anyway!

Happy Monday everyone! Let’s get this week in the books so I can be one week closer to my HOMEEEEEEEEEE!

Comments
  1. Julie says:

    So glad you found a place to live!! I hope you have a great week!

  2. Kathleen says:

    Maybe the insomnia is from not eatimg enough carbohydrates. Obviously, I don’t know what you are eating but it’s not uncommon.

  3. Lisa says:

    Oh my, she is so adorable! Enjoy that baby fix because I need one, bad!! And I can’t believe he’s three. Why? Because that means my BABY will be 3 next month. NOOOOOO!

    Anyway, I’m very excited for you getting a place, yay! Happy Monday to you too!!

  4. Olivera says:

    ……….well then. I see im the only one left who hasnt given in to the UGGs! tisk tisk

Leave a Reply

