Gym Ban: Day One

Posted: March 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

To be honest…. I’m not ready to fully get into everything that had led to my gym ban. It’s not a pretty story, but it involves 17 coats of mascara smudged down my face and a rant about how a girl having a meltdown is NOT always about a stupid boy….

But to make a long story short, as of about 9pm last night I’m on a 3 day gym ban for some very much needed rest and recovery, coach’s orders. Absolutely no weights until Monday, and depending how I feel I may or may not be doing a light 20 minute cardio session Sunday.

But until then… I’m taking a cue from the best role model I can think of for R&R time.

photo (59)

He who sleeps all day, lounges all night… relaxes in the sun and is the master of chill. He makes it look so easy!

So um… why is it so hard?

I fully admit three days off at four weeks out makes me nervous. Really nervous. BUT… I trust Jody and I know he’s right so it’s going to happen… I just hope it has the desired effect on me.

I admit the r&r didn’t get off to the best start, I slept like garbage last night. I was up until about 2am wide awake and woke up around 7 this morning. Ugh. But I decided the best thing I could do for myself is well… have a little Becca time. I relaxed and had a long, hot shower. I FINALLY fixed my feet up and was able to slip into some peep toes for my morning run around town.

photo (58)

I also decided to take a cue from the lovely Michelle and try out “doing my hair” to see how I feel about keeping it long for the show. Clearly there is only one way to do hair for a show…. that’s Toddler’s and Tiara’s big people!

photo (54)

photo (55)

I think I need to blow dry it with some form of product in it… and break out the big barreled curling iron…. But i’ve got four weeks to play around with it.

At least it’s not a ponytail. Babysteps people… babysteps.

My running around took me to sobeys where I picked up everything i need to do what no self respecting modern woman should do…. roast two turkeys…. at once. Seriously. One isn’t enough. They’re buy one get one free. This should be interesting.

photo (56)

Just as interesting as walking out of Sobey’s with a turkey under each arm like a football…. in 5 inch heels, red lipstick and my giant sunglasses like a 50’s housewife. Class all the way people.

So here’s to three days of rest, relaxing, and most importantly recovery.

I need it.

There. I said it.

Comments
  1. clairerd says:

    Enjoy it! You work your butt off! 🙂

  2. I hope you’re able to enjoy your 3 days of rest and relaxation Becca. I wish someone would have been able to take a picture of you with your two turkeys as you walked out of the grocery store. Hey, maybe someone did! 🙂

  3. AH. Okay so I commented on this hours ago but I didn’t think it went through because my internet crashed. Anyways-I hope everything goes okay for you. I know how things feel ten times worse via lack of sleep. I know these 3 days are going to do wonders for you girl!

Leave a Reply

