Gym Ban: The Final Verdict

Posted: March 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

I decided to do a little experiment with my forced gym ban.

One of my biggest concerns with taking three days off at four weeks out was losing ground on my progress or in other words (like any normal chick out there)… gaining fat/weight.

I was convinced three days off would kill me, I’d gain five pounds, feel like a slob and hate life come Monday.

But regardless, when the coach said to trust him on this… like I trusted him back in November when I signed up… I did. But just out of curiosity Friday morning I did something I haven’t done in awhile. I got on the scale.

Maybe I was telling myself that if this experiment went how I thought it would I could email Jody this morning and say “ha ha! I gained 10 pounds! Now FIX IT!”

I want to say that I stressed out about the break my entire weekend, that I thought about the workouts I was missing, the cardio I wasn’t doing, the disaster I was going to wake up to Monday morning…. but I didn’t. Sure there was a passing thought here and there of “Hmm.. gym?” but in all honesty I was so busy that I just did what I had to do and kept up with real life.

photo (65)

I admit I did consider going to the gym for the 20 minutes of light cardio yesterday… I tossed my gym bag in the car when I headed out at 7am to pick up Gillian. We spent the morning at the flea market with some other lovely ladies selling used clothing (… and buying eachother’s used clothing…) and by the time we left it was noon. I had to be at work by 1, so I just decided to wander the craft store, grab a cup of coffee and chill out.

So in short. I took the full three days off.

Last night, I got home from work around 10:30 and was in bed by 11:30. Unlike every night for weeks before hand I wasn’t reaching for the kindle to read or something to entertain me, I shut off the light, snuggled in with the Fritz by my feet and…. fell asleep right away. Was it the BEST sleep ever? No, I did have two pee breaks and a wake up when mom got up for work, but honestly it was the best sleep I;ve had in awhile.

I even managed to sleep until NINE AM PEOPLE!!!!

I woke up feeling like a new person to say the least. My first thought was however… OMG I GET TO GO TO THE GYM TODAY!

I haven’t woken up feeling like that for a few weeks now. It’s been more “well.. better get moving…. gym. ugh”. So the mental break alone was obviously exactly what I needed.

Physically my body doesn’t ache the way it’s been aching, I feel fresh and ready to get back. Awesome.

… and then I decided to complete my three day gym ban with a step on the scale. Just so maybe I’d still  have something to complain about when I email the coach today.

So did three days of rest ruin everything? Did I gain ten pounds and get fat overnight?

Meh. I lost a pound and a half.

So much for that arguement.

At this point my weight means nothing to me. but it was interesting to see that things don’t go to hell in a hand basket by resting.  Awesome.

So now, I’m four weeks out. Ready to get back to things and so excited for the changes I’m going to see in the next month. FOUR WEEKS. wow. Time sure does fly when you’re having fun.

… and have something new and awesome to look forward to post show.

photo (63)

The parentals made a trip down to Maine yesterday since they had no plans. My priorities were in order when I asked them to pick up the essentials. I will be eating a big ass bowl of those cheerios, possibly with a big spoonful of the PB mixed into my almond milk post show.

It’s going to be epic.

Yes please.

Now if you’ll excuse me… I’ve got a workout to get to! WOO!

Happy Monday!

Comments
  1. Interesting to say the least. I’m def the same way with taking days off. I’m scared my endurance will go down the tubes and I’ll regret-though I never do. Glad to see this break did you justice and hopefully you’ll have a fulfilling workout (or did I guess).

  2. Some times you need a break to remember what you love and YAY for feeling fresh and accomplished today 🙂

  3. I strive to be addicted (not in an unhealthy way) to the gym. Instead I have absolutely no problem taking days off from the gym. Sadly the difference between you and me is that I shouldn’t be taking breaks from the gym. 😦

    I’m glad your break from the gym worked in your favor.

  4. I always found that I lost weight after a few days off. Less water retention I’m sure. And that food—yum.

  5. Woah! I never heard of the bees knees lol! What’s that chocolate?! Sound like a plan!!

Leave a Reply

