A Little Bit Of Crazy

Posted: April 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

During my last prep I made the huge decision to pack up my life and head back east. For a huge portion of my prep I was cleaning out, packing up and prepping for the move. I started packing in MAY…. and completed the move two weeks post show. By the time show day rolled around, I was packed up, tidied up and ready to go. I was able to fully focus on the show, and then enjoy my last two weeks in Montreal.

july 21 002 This time around, in true Becca fashion I’m doing something even crazier.

Saturday afternoon I finally got my keys to my new home.

The crazy part? Because of my current shift, and the holiday shift I picked up on Friday, I’m working 6 days in row. Then I have Saturday off which most likely includes a trip to Fredericton for a team meeting… and then back to work Sunday.

Ummm, did I mention I’m also planning on painting before the move?

Oh… and I’m refinishing furniture too.

apt 008 Sometimes I legit think I’ve lost my mind.

… and well, I probably have.

But when I made the move back east it was to start my life, to live life… not just continue going through the motions. It’s definitely been harder and a lot more work than I ever thought it would be, but the way things are going is just… amazing.

Yes, life is a bit nuts, but not only have I totally killed prep with family and friends around (instead of in my own little Montreal bubble), I have moved, found a new job, a new apartment and well… started living. There will never be a perfect time or place to do everything, sometimes you just need to jump. When I found this apartment I knew it needed work, and I knew the date to move in was at a really awkward time, but I knew I’d also never find THIS place again for the price I”m paying. Sometimes you just need to take a chance and go for it.

apt 004 There was just something about scheduling to see this apartment on my own… going to the viewing, negotiating little changes and signing the lease without anyone else seeing it that reminded me even though I am back home I’m still that independent chick who spent 8 years in the city.

But at the same time… I’m still the insecure chick nervous taking my mom with me for the final walk through of my place… and the chick who accepts she needs help with this crazy venture and gladly can accept mom helping me paint before I move in.

Getting this apartment really makes me feel like…well, how I thought life would be when I moved back. I have my independence, my own place. My space that’s just mine… but knocking on the door is family and friends to visit.

Excuse me, I’m getting all weepy up in here. I can blame hormones/prep/excitement right?!

So in short, this week may be a bit crazy, but totally worth it. I’m officially making my home!

photo (67)

Comments
  1. clairerd says:

    Those are beautiful windows! You’ll have lots of natural light. 🙂

  2. You are going to love it! That looks awesome girl!

  3. redkeeney says:

    Oh wow… love the windows! It’s great that things have fallen into place for you. I enjoy following your journey.

  4. Congratulations! I am in live with those windows!!!! They are Fritztastic! Um, you know I need before during and after shots of this spray paint mania. *cheesy excited grin*

    xo
    Mindy

Leave a comment