The Long and the Short of It

Posted: April 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

It was a busy weekend…. and until this morning I thought I could even say that for a 1 day “long weekend” it was pretty much perfect.

Friday I worked, then met up with mom at the apartment. She had my bedroom fully painted, we tackled the dining room and got that finished and one coat on the living room while dad, my brother and a family friend dropped off my bed and dining set. Progress… we were making it.

photo (76)

Saturday morning I was up early to head off to Fredericton to having a posing session with the president of the bodybuilding association here as well as train with the team. The day started out on the right foot with a jumbo americano and a birthday card delivered by hand from my momma… instead of the usual in the mail route.

photo (75)

The posing session was awesome… like beyond words. I will get more into that and my feedback in another post, I promise. Team training was good. Great workout, now that it’s two weeks out everything is becoming real, hotel bookings, after show reservations, etc etc.. lots of chatting, lots of fun.

I spent the afternoon being… and more importantly feeling… more normal than I have in a very long time. I wasn’t the weird girl not eating cake on her birthday, I wasn’t on a “diet”, I was just a very relaxed Becca.

I got home around dinner time and headed off to town for groceries and a bit of house shopping. I picked up some craft supplies at Michaels, grabbed food and browsed Winners for quite some time.

photo (78)

(FYI: It’s now snowing out. From flip flops to uggs in a day. Awesome)

Today started out great… Easter brunch with the family, very busy and loud but fun.

photo (74) …They always say dress for the job you want right???

Then my phone beeped and I had a very cryptic Facebook message from an old high school friend who is now a cop in town. At first I honestly wrote it off as spam/junk mail crap, but then I thought about the phone number she left me to call if I needed to talk and I shot off a text. Better safe than sorry right?

Hearing the news was easier from a good friend, but still some pretty shocking and tragic news.

I don’t know if it’s the hormones from being two weeks out or I’m just being a chick about it, but the sad news hit me harder than I thought it would. A very… ugly… reminder that life is often too short.

I’m not really in the most upbeat mood, which is crappy because I really do have great things to talk about… but all in due time. Right now I just need to get to bed and get on with it. Two weeks to go and I need to hold it together.

Comments
  1. Oh no Becca =( I’m so sorry to hear you got some bad news =( =( =(

  2. redkeeney says:

    Sorry to hear about the bad news on an otherwise good weekend. Hope you’re doing okay.

  3. Sorry to hear about the tragic news, news like that is never easy to hear 😦
    I hope you’re doing better today. xoxo

Leave a Reply

