It Was an Experience

Posted: April 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

So Atlantics. I will say that this is just a recap of the day. Some basics, logistics and photos I’ve gathered so far. I have a lot of thoughts on the day, the industry and my very tough moment where I came very close to hanging up the heels for good and for real… but for now… Just the details.

Here we go.

atlantics 001

Friday was pretty much already explained. I slept like garbage Friday night, the dreams I had… oh the dreams. Total prep nightmares. Not fun. I got up around 7:30, and started getting ready. I made a quick stop at the hotel breakfast (not even tempting, sadly) for some coffee and slapped on a coat of tan and did my hair, makeup and another coat of tan.

atlantics 002

This time around I did three coats of Ultra 1 tan. I’ve always had issues with tan for my shows. Unfortunately no matter if I’m pasty white, natural tanned, half tanned, nothing seems to fix it. I quit all smelly lotions a week out, I use only unscented soap and the Jan Tana scrub yet still my upper body just… doesn’t take the tan. For some reason my arms and legs seemed pretty decent this time around, but my back and stomach? Ugh.

atlantics 004

I was actually ready… early. So I did what is completely expected of me.

I checked out of the hotel, got in the car and drove across the street to the mall for a (good) coffee. That continental buffet crap was… crap. I wanted something tasty. Winter carnival (aka vanilla caramel) from Timothy’s hit the spot for my short drive over to the venue. Once the ladies were allowed backstage I headed back and settled into…. the hallway… with the team.

Yes, hallway. The venue was a high school. There were two tiny “get ready” rooms and they were taken over pretty fast. We had a little nook in by some lockers which did the trick for us. Just enough room for us to spread out a bit, relax, pump up, tan, get ready… blah blah blah…

Figure model was up first, then physique, then figure masters… then figure short… so yeah, there was a bit of a long wait. With hair and makeup done and um… the coach backstage with us to tell us when to pump, fix our tans, help us out it was a totally different experience than before when I’d be running to the lobby to get a signal to text Joe or find out what’s going on.

Therefore I put on my suit, hauled my sweats back on and… chilled.

atlantics2

… there’s nothing like relaxing in a hallway that resembles Dexter’s kill room with plastic lining all the walls and floors.

Eventually it was that wonderful time and the sweats came off, the tan got touched up (ummm…. much easier to have someone else do your back than yourself), and I nom’d some Covered Bridge sea salt chips while I pumped up.

Let me just say, I’ve never had these chips before and a huge shout out to teammate Randy for trying them out and realizing how they reacted for him and therefore making them on the show day list for all of us. Not only are they gluten and trans fat free they are AWESOME. Chips are a hugeeeee weakness for me so getting to have a few handfuls yesterday was badass.

atlantics 008

FYI: I want to be Julie when I grow up.

Before I knew it the call went out and figure medium  was lining up to go on stage. Up first was the individual presentation…. Simply put walk to the box made out of tape at center stage, strike a few poses, do a little wave and walk back off. I felt so fine waiting in line but when my name was called I could feel myself shaking. I kept telling myself to slow it down and chill out and I think I did… not so bad.

atlantics5

atlantics4

After the individual presentation you’re marched back out for the lineup.

The stage was time. Like “Hi, you’re in my personal space and you smell really bad, please step off” small. There was… 11??? … girls in my class and it was a tight squeeze. Hitting the front and back poses was awkward, I felt like I was hitting people and taking up too much space. Looking back I wish I could slap myself and say “take up that space bitch, you earned it” but hind sight… you know.

atlantics7

This is where I’m going to leave a bit of a gap in the story. It was a bit of an emotional/tough/learning experience for me. Part of me wants to completely leave out what happened, pretend it never happened…. but that’s not the truth. It happened and I think it’s a part of the fitness industry I want to be honest and open about today is just… not the day.

After prejudging I got to meet a very cool lady I have known for quite sometime from the Canadian Forum on Bodybuilding.com. It was actually through another friend on this forum that I was pointed in the direction of Blueprint, so they’re good people there!

Since my phone was totally dead and I had nothing to do during the (short) break I headed to a gas station and called my parents (omg pay phones still exist?! … and cost 50 cents now!??!) who met up with me and hung out for a bit. I got to explain how the morning went, make small talk and tell them about what they’ll see tonight. While this was number 5 for me, it was their first time seeing me compete. Eek.

Once the venue was open again we headed in so they could get some good seats and I could chill out. I headed backstage and actually chit chatted with a few people from my gym. It seems like a lot of people knew I was at the gym a lot and train hard… but didn’t know I was competing.

… Apparently I’m just really vain and like to pose a lot?

Anyway, I think it’s going to be interesting in the next few weeks at the gym.

So after the show got started (late…) I wasn’t on for quite some time. There was a lot of waiting and sitting and blah blah blahing with the team. Since the evening show had bodybuilding and figure/physique/model all mixed together it was hot, stinky and busy backstage. But yeah, once again I’ll say it was beyond awesome having the team back there. Competing with the IDFA everyone is SO friendly and welcoming, but backstage at this show…. not so much. So to have everyone back there rocked.

atlantic

The evening show was much more relaxed. Do the individual presentation, come out in the lineup, front, side, front poses, walk off. Top three called. Fast, easy and no worries. I felt much more confident this time around. With the judging over, Jody sitting at the side of the stage reminding Julie and I over and over to slow down, take our time, have fun and SMILE really helped.

atlantics3

Seeing these photos makes me feel better about the whole day… no, I wasn’t “there”…. but I can do this. I’ve got the confidence now, I’ve got the coaching, I’ve got the team behind me. Now it’s just about putting the plan in motion and following through. Big plans people, big plans… more on that later (obviously)

Overall I’m really happy I did this show. I had a lot of mixed emotions on it, but when it comes down to it, every show, every federation, every day is an experience and it’s really just about what you take from each of these experiences and learn and improve upon from them. I think it really goes without saying that I learned more about myself than I ever thought possible.  atlanticssssss.bmp

And with that being said….

27 weeks until Provincials. Bring it on.

Comments
  1. Toni says:

    What an adventure. Thanks so much for sharing! It has been a great inspiration to read your stories, and learn from your experiences.

  2. Tara says:

    You look so gorgeous and natural on stage! It’s a shame you didn’t place but I’m looking forward to seeing what happens next for you 🙂

  3. yumyucky says:

    I seriously wish you all the best as you move forward with competing. Learning experiences can truly suck, but stay positive, keep working hard and kick ass! 😉

  4. Lisa says:

    Awe girl you looked fantastic! I’M super proud of you! I love that you had your team there, that had to be so different and refreshing than what you’re used to. I bet your family loved every second of it too. YAY!

  5. Sable@SquatLikeALady says:

    WOOHOO! I love, love, love your attitude Becca =) And you present SO well on stage!!

  6. Kari says:

    Congratulations! You look beautiful!

  7. So I read this this morning on my phone an couldn’t comment. You are seriously amazing and I’m glad you had such a good time (minus the part you didn’t add). You deserve the greatest and you presented so well. I’m so proud of you Becca and you are seriously one of my favorite bloggers ever. I could a novel about awesome you are as mushy and weird as that problem sounds.

  8. Cara Herperger says:

    Total win! You look amazing. Best physique you’ve brought to stage yet! Curious about the part you left out. I too had an experience that I havent spoke much about after my competition that was just plain upsetting. I’ll share if you share..when you’re ready of course 🙂

  9. Cara Herperger says:

    Total win! You looked amazing! Best physique you’ve brought to stage yet! Curious about the part you left out. I too had an experience after my comp that I haven’t spoke much about because it was just plain upsetting. I’ll share if you’ll share..when you’re ready of course 🙂

  10. You should be SO proud. I am amazed at the determination you have had through this prep, though I can not compare to the last 4. Yes, people around you should be jealous, HELLO?! You look fantastic. Celebrate the work you have done, maybe we can embrace it as at family? Paleo Goldies’? We are doing well, following suit. I’m in if there’s wine!

    Griffin is so proud of you! He is just happy you have such a big smile! #smilesmakeitworthit

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

