So Now What?

Posted: May 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

Now that Atlantics are over…. and Provincials are seemingly fast approaching… it’s about time I set out some clear goals and plans for the next 27 and a half weeks right?

Like I’ve said time and time again lately, it’s not about the placing, it’s about the progress. I think over the last three years I’ve managed to make some fairly impressive gains.

PJ tatlantics

Um yeah… seeing that side by side is a little nuts.

Anyway. Goal time.

In discussion with the coach actually at the show it was mentioned it is completely possible for me to step on stage in November 4-5 lbs heavier. I want to say this sounds absolutely crazy and admit that I immediately told him he was talking madness…. but when I compare the numbers from last year to this year it makes me feel like that’s totally doable with proper nutrition and busting my ass in the gym.

 capclassic 069 atlantics9

Between those two pictures is a grand total weight difference of…. 1 pound.

I really don’t like to put much thought into the scale anymore, I actually haven’t stepped on it since the day I left for Moncton and that was just to have a baseline for the coach. It’s still under the bed at my parents place, and for all I care it can stay there for a few months. I’m completely going on feeling, and when November rolls around we shall see where the dial falls if you will.

Basically, “number wise”, as long as I’m still fitting in my jeans, feeling healthy and happy with my body image I’m a-ok with the changes that will occur.

But until then… what’s the plan for coming in bigger (…. and yes leaner) in November?

I’m 7 days into my first 30 day cycle of German volume training. It’s a five day schedule repeated 6 times with rotating rep schemes meant to increase my strength by 9-12% by the end of it. The focus is on the big lifts, very simple workouts with (obviously) high volume, think deadlifts, incline bench, rows and lateral raises. There are a few smaller muscle groups slipped in there, but truth be told I’m not bicep curling or tricep kick backing my way to changes this time around.

… in fact there is not a single bicep exercise in my entire plan…. and I’m okay with that.

There is also a lot of rest built in. My schedule looks a little something like this:

  • Day 1: Back/Chest
  • Day 2: Rest
  • Day 3: Legs/Abs
  • Day 4: Shoulders/Arms
  • Day 5: Rest

I admit it’s a little weird to have so much downtime in my plan. I’ve always been a 6 day a week workout-er so I really feel like i ”should” be doing more… or I should take up a hobby or get a social life or something. Stay tuned on that one.

Cardio wise… well, you all know how I feel about the cardio.

cardio It’s really pretty simple. On days when I workout, I finish up my workout with a whooping NINE minutes of cardio. Basically three sets of 3 minutes for intervals. This is really just for heart/healthy reasons and not to lose weight or anything. I really can’t complain about this.

Nutrition wise, pretty much same old, same old. Just more of it.

Not going to lie, my 6:30 pm meal seems huge and epic to me now. And I love it.

home My calories are up not a huge amount from prep, but let’s be honest here… I’m two and a half weeks post show and making a huge jump in food will make a huge increase in behind size…. which I’m trying to avoid. I’ve still got a fair amount more food and based on results and progress photos we shall go from there.

I’m happy to report I don’t feel that bad so far. I do feel much softer, but I do still fit into my “impossible skinny jeans”… you know, the ones you buy thinking one day you’ll fit into them but you never really do? Well they finally fit (and got baggy) in prep, and i’m kind of hoping they continue to fit, but only time will tell.

So in short…. good food, cardio for health and some good old fashioned german volume training.

Time to make some changes!

Comments
  1. runningperspective says:

    you look SERIOUSLY AMAZING! you are such an inspiration to me just fyi! and i am so so so interested in hearing how the german volume training goes for you I have been looking into it because I am definitely trying to make HUGE strength gains!
    you are AWESOME<3

  2. YES. I can’t wait to see how this next chapter goes. I’ve been slightly lifting more weights lately and everytime I think to myself WWBD (What would Becca do). If that doesn’t make me creepy…

  3. This is why I love reading your blog, you are freaking bad ass awesome!!!!

Leave a Reply

