One Year Ago Today

Posted: May 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

It’s Mother’s Day…. Happy Mother’s Day to of course MY mom, my wonderful sister in law who is the mom to the two cutest kids ever and all the other mothers out there!

One year ago I wrote a blog post to my mom that began the biggest change of my adult life.

july 29 003 Even though I wrote that blog post my move was still hush hush.

I began to plot and plan and budget for my move that March when I was home for a week long vacation. It was then I knew I needed to pack up and head home… but I was petrified to tell my parents that I was coming home. I was packing and planning… all in secret… thinking that when I broke the news that they would be disappointed in me, or try to talk me out of it.

Why I picked Mother’s Day to tell mom was a simple logistics thing. I knew dad was fishing and she would be home alone and well… it was time. I needed to do it. The conversation I had with a friend before hand was simply, this is either going to make her day or ruin mother’s day for her forever. So I picked up my phone I curled up in a ball on the bed and told my mom I wasn’t happy.

… I then proceeded to sob for the remainder of the phone call while she talked away and ended it by saying she knows how unhappy I am but that she couldn’t be happier.

This day has been weighing on my mind all day long…. ever since i realized this morning that it was one year to the day that I verbalized my decision and put my plan into action. It’s been a hell of a year and so many things have changed… but one thing that has remained the same is the constant love, support and… tolerance for my crazy… from my mom no matter what.

atlantics 013 She’s still taking pictures of my crazy, she’s still listening to me talk about Fritz like he’s my baby, she’s still eating the crazy foods I cooked…. she’s still the awesome mom she always was.

It’s been a tough year, but she’s been there supporting me and helping me every step of the way.

So once again… to my mom. Happy Mother’s Day. Here’s to another year in the same city, hopefully with just as many laughs, hugs and arguments over coffee vs tea.

mom

Comments
  1. This is such a well written and awesome post Becca! I’m so glad everything worked out for you!

  2. Awwwww =) Happy Mother’s Day Becca’s mom!!!! =)

  3. I know she’s an amazing lady. I mean, cmon she raised you!

  4. Teri says:

    Ok so I have been blog stlaking you for like, along time. SOrry about that. I go to get it girls page then come find yours every time…….. I am so weird. How bout I introduce myself and then add you to my side roll so it’s easier to keep up with your story. LOL! I am Teri, competed once the week after you did…. loved it… trying to transition back to normal life, with no intention of competing again because it is too hard for me to balance family and that… BUT I LOVED IT. And I loved comparing with your journey I thought you looked amazing and beautiful and I love your short hair.
    Anywho!!! Thanks for letting me stalk you so long haha… good luck, you will find your groove in the next little bit and you will rock the hell outta that stage in 6 months girl!!!

Leave a Reply

