Goodbye to the Scale… 25 Weeks Out

Posted: May 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

Last November 28th I started prep with Blueprint at 20 weeks and five days out. I completely changed everything about how I looked at dieting and competing and decided to trust my coach and the process and give it one month. If I hated it, it was over.

That was simply how I decided to look at the change.

And it paid off. I don’t like to get into numbers and all that hoopla but from the end of November until show day I lost about 30 lbs. Crazy.

I have not stepped foot on my scale since the day before my show. In fact, it’s not even in my apartment, it’s still shoved under the bed at my parents place. And that’s where it will stay until November. That sounds like crazy talk to me, but honestly… do I feel bigger right now? Yes. Do I still fit in my “skinny clothes”? Yes.

Do I need the mental head &%^$ of a number on a scale? No.

I actually have visions of my scale suddenly being able to talk if I stepped on it… it would say something like “one at a time please”.

So I am actually swearing of the scale until Provincials (and that’s only for tracking purposes). Free the mind, free the body… or something like that.

Anyway. Yesterday I mentioned I bought a new bikini Friday, stress free. Yet when the email went out with dates for progress photos I almost had a stroke. The thought of the stripper shoes, my sunburn and a bikini on camera just… well, it put the fear in me. Alas, I got up this morning, took the photos and while I told myself I could just upload and send them off, i opened them up to crop them and take a look as usual.

And you know what… they weren’t…. awful. Sure I’m not looking like I did a month ago, but considering being sick, doing little cardio and my admitted struggle with food I was okay with them. So I fired them off to Jody and hoped he was okay with them. While I was at the gym an email popped up in response and well, it stopped me in my tracks.

I guess I haven’t “let myself go” as much as I feel like I have.

So here goes nothing, a little comparison from the start of Atlantics prep (well, 3 weeks in) to where I’m starting at now.

Dec 18 front  may 22 front

Dec 18 004may 22 lt side

I wish the photos were closer to the same size/angle… the difference isn’t huge, but it’s about 20 lbs I’m guessing. I’ll take it.

The coach was very impressed and happy, things are staying exactly the same on the plan and I’m under orders to keep pushing as heavy as I can, resting when needed and enjoying life.

Sounds simple enough, I think I can handle that.

Just under 25 weeks until New Brunswick Provincials. There is nothing I want more than to kick my own ass from Atlantics to then and see how much I can improve. I’ve got a lot of thoughts on this crazy process rolling around in my head right now, especially about why I’m choosing to remain gluten/dairy free… but it’s time to head off to work.

I want to open up the comments section (or email above!) to any questions or comments you might have…. I’ve been compiling a list from comments I’ve received and want to do a post on it sooner rather than later! So don’t be shy! Ask away!

Comments
  1. You deeefinitely are clearly leaner, even if the pictures aren’t identical in size etc. Definitely. You look great!!!

    As far as dairy/gluten – have your coaches told you why they don’t want you eating that? Do you think it makes a difference?

  2. Lisa says:

    You still look fantastic, good for you! I’m excited to follow along again, your transforations are amazing! When you don’t think you can look any better or different, you pull it off. I’m in awe!

  3. Christina B. says:

    You look super amazing. I can’t wait until I can post photos like this – you have made such a change in your body – be proud!

    CB

    http://www.gofiguregirl.wordpress.com

  4. dotsie says:

    you look fantastic! 🙂 and inspiring and motivating and…you rock!

  5. Tess says:

    You are lookin’ marvelous darling! Wow you really are at an advantage over where you started last time. Great luck!

  6. Wow 25 weeks is half a year. I don’t even know why that just registered in my mind. You look awesome and I can’t wait to see how this cycle goes. You look awesome and you made some serious strides last time. Holy crap.

Leave a Reply

